zipfromlist command doesn't work

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1013
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

To update an archive from a file list with 7-Zip:

Code: Select all

 7za.exe u archive.zip @filelist.txt
Adds and overwrites newer files. The additional -u switch gives you finer control of when and how to update files. 7za.exe is the standalone command line version and is available as a separate download.
User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo »

ZoSTeR wrote:To update an archive from a file list with 7-Zip:

Code: Select all

 7za.exe u archive.zip @filelist.txt
Adds and overwrites newer files. The additional -u switch gives you finer control of when and how to update files. 7za.exe is the standalone command line version and is available as a separate download.
I usually try to stay away from command line versions as they always pop up the cmd window and it gets annoying after a while.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1013
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

[v] Run minimized ? ;)

Btw you can use Winrar with the exact same parameters.
User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo »

2ZoSTeR
The v doesn't do anything as the window still pops up. I tried doing it with WinRAR but it keeps saying it can't find the archive. Also, WinRAR gives way better compression size than 7-Zip does.

EDIT: I got it working with WinRar now. Is there any way to not include the paths in the RAR files?
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1013
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

Boofo wrote:Is there any way to not include the paths in the RAR files?
yep: winrar.exe u -ep archive.rar @filelist.txt
-ibck might also be interesting. Sends winrar to background (systray)
User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo »

2ZoSTeR
I found that about 2 minutes after I wrote that post. Here is what ended up with and it seems to work great! I shaved off 23K from 7-Zip's size and 29K from ZIPFROMLIST's size with WinRAR.

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
C:\Program Files\WinRAR\WinRAR.exe
u -ep -m5 -ibck "D:\Software\Total Commander\INI Files\Backup\tc_ini_backup.rar" @tc_ini_filelist.txt
D:\Software\Total Commander\Icons\Boofo_Icons.icl,25

D:\Software\Total Commander\INI Files\Backup\

-1
Thank you very much for the help and the suggestions.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1013
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

No problem. Btw 7-Zip usually compresses better but only with its native 7z file format.
User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo »

I couldn't get it to do better. I probably messed up the command line on it though.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Re: And with switches ?

Post by *DrShark »

Clo wrote::) Well, that should be faster, i.e. whether the parameter could support some switches :
ZIPFROMLIST Path\blah_blah.zip /switch
- As “switch” we could have :
...
F=Pack files only without dir. containers (when we are sure that no duplicate name exists in the list)
I would like to support for a switch to pack files without dirs too, at least if only 1 file or files only from 1 folder selected so it will work more like native zip packer from Alt+F5 dialog.
In TC I configured compression level for ZIP to 9 because I use it often. But when I need the packing to ZIPX I use a button with zipfromlist and -10 parameter.
Another thing I miss in zipfromlist is the ability to set a custom zip filename for each packing task, because that filename defined only in the button's command field where ? character doesn't call a dialog with a field to enter a parameter (like it does when ? is a first parameter in parameters field).
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
Post Reply