Is there a tc command can move cursor down or up?

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
bbbslayer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2009-11-11, 00:31 UTC

Is there a tc command can move cursor down or up?

Post by *bbbslayer »

I just want to remap ctrl + n = down, ctrl + p = up, or j = down, k = up

just like emacs or vi style cursor movement.

I search the command dialog, but can not find a command named cm_up or cm_down.

I know ahk script can help. but tc's internal command can make me send single key when rename. ahk script is a global hotkey solution.

btw, I alreadly make an a-z hotkey plan in tc. (use just a-z as hotkey)
such as c = copy, m = move, r = rename, no ctrl, shift, alt key, very comfortable for me.

if i make j = arrow down, k = arrow up, my plan is perfect,
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

Don't believe there is. Many of us have resorted to programs like AutoHotKey (AutoIT, PowerPro) to make up for TC's shortcomings in the HotKey department.

AHK:

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
{
	j::
	k::
	{
		aKey := A_ThisHotKey == "j" ? "Down" : "Up"
		ControlGetFocus, aControl, A
		if( RegExMatch( aControl, "TMyListBox[1-2]" ) )
			Send, {%aKey%}
		else
			Send, {%A_ThisHotKey%}
	return
	}
return
}
And if you were able to do it with TC, your plan would soon go awry as TC doesn't distinguish between where you are in it's interface. So you would be unable to type j or k in places like the Command-Line or Move-Dialog's etc.

Try remapping the normal Left/Right in TC to activate the Left or Right Panel...
And you will soon see you cannot move the cursor in any of it's dialogs (like QuickSearch, or CommandLine, or in-place rename...)
bbbslayer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2009-11-11, 00:31 UTC

Post by *bbbslayer »

excelllent. Balderstrom, thank you very much
Seldon
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-02-20, 06:51 UTC

Post by *Seldon »

em_up can be cm_SelectAll,cm_GotoPrevSelected,cm_ClearAll
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14741
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

And em_down can be cm_SelectAll,cm_GotoNextSelected,cm_ClearAll

2bbbslayer
I just want to remap ctrl + n = down, ctrl + p = up
Notice that Ctrl+N and Ctrl+P are already assigned by default in TC, so you wil loose these assignments.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

@petermad

I bet less than 1% of TC users use CTRL+N on purpose to open a FTP connection.

And CTRL+P's action (Copy current path to command line) could easily be remapped to the unused CTRL+SHIFT+P -- which would make more sense anyways, as CTRL+P should be Print.
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
User avatar
DarkRuleR
Member
Member
Posts: 190
Joined: 2003-02-20, 22:23 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *DarkRuleR »

Balderstrom wrote:I bet less than 1% of TC users use CTRL+N on purpose to open a FTP connection.
Wow I'm in the 1%!!
:lol:
#106383 Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14741
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Wow I'm in the 1%!!
#MeToo ;-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Vochomurka
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 814
Joined: 2005-09-14, 22:19 UTC
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by *Vochomurka »

Balderstrom wrote:I bet less than 1% of TC users use CTRL+N on purpose to open a FTP connection
I am from 99%. I don't see any mnemonics in Ctrl+N for "New connection", because, first, the "New" word in used in 8 (eight!) other commands.
Second, a new ftp connection is quite rare operation, and there is no need to introduce a hot key for such command.
I've remapped Ctrl+N to cm_MultiRenameFiles. I don't use Ctrl+M. but reasonable is could be used for cm_MatchSrc
Single user license #329241
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13052
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

I am also a member of the 1% club. 8)

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Post Reply