Open many files just with one click

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Indeed, it looks like only the context menu Explorer call works with Winamp. Also Process Explorer shows a parameter "-Embedding" when it is used, that's very strange...

Anyway, you can solve your problem with l2m, I have upload it here as the Club Total server is dead:
http://icfu.totalcmd.net/l2m_2005.1.3.180.zip

Code: Select all

Command: <path>\l2m.exe
Parameter: /B:/ADD /L:"%L" /X:"<path>\winamp.exe" /W
Or switch to a modern player without 256 bytes limit, if that's an option. ;)
I like Apollo, for example, works flawlessly with Choice Editor or lst2str.

Icfu
This account is for sale
User avatar
JackFoo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 373
Joined: 2003-02-05, 19:53 UTC
Location: ERROR

Post by *JackFoo »

however, even with lst2str i encounter problems. i don't quite understand why, but there's a severe limit to the input size. by default, i only manage to add some three or four songs to the playlist.
i tried to up this limit with /C:xxxx, but this only made the winamp crash.
Winamp's fault, apparently it's still in the dark ages of win95 et al., it can't process more than 255 bytes (although since w2k 4k is possible).

Another option you could try is passing the path,filename in the old 8.3 format (use %l instead of %L) this should in most case solve the problem for you and let you use lst2str with winamp. There will still be the 255 bytes limit but now more songs will fit.

Cheers.
User avatar
XPEHOPE3KA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 854
Joined: 2006-03-03, 18:23 UTC
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Post by *XPEHOPE3KA »

I'm using a very old solution by user Batya from the Russian forum:

Create a new *.vbs-file, copy this code

Code: Select all

Dim Winamp 
Winamp = "C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe"

Set objArgs = WScript.Arguments 
Set TempFile = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject").OpenTextFile(objArgs(0), 1) 
Set WS  = CreateObject("WScript.Shell") 

if objArgs.Count > 1 then 
  Str = TempFile.ReadLine 
  if Right(Str,1) = "\" then 
    Str = Left(Str, Len(Str) - 1) 
  end if 
  WS.run chr(34) & Winamp & chr(34) & " " & chr(34) & Str & chr(34) 
end if 

Do While Not TempFile.AtEndOfStream 
  Str = TempFile.ReadLine 
  if Right(Str,1) = "\" then 
    Str = Left(Str, Len(Str) - 1) 
  end if 
  WS.run chr(34) & Winamp & chr(34) & " /add " & chr(34) & Str & chr(34) 
Loop
to it and adjust the path to winamp. Drag&drop this file to your buttonbar. Press the right mouse button on the new button and choose Edit. If you want the button to ADD files & folders to the current playlist, then enter %L in the parameters field. If you want to REPLACE the current playlist with the selected files & folders, then enter %L and any other parameter (it will be like %L , - WITH the comma!).

The button works for me in all the situations: winamp is playing something or not, opened or closed, any number of files and folders can be added at a time.
User avatar
XPEHOPE3KA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 854
Joined: 2006-03-03, 18:23 UTC
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Post by *XPEHOPE3KA »

BTW, mostly I use Apollo :cool:
F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab... - I like to move IT, move IT!..
onikage
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2003-12-11, 08:34 UTC
Location: Czech Rep.

Post by *onikage »

thanks a bunch guys. both the solutions work nice for me.
i understand the problem was caused by the fact that i use a very old winamp version (2.72), since newer versions generally brought just more bling and less value.

o/t: apart from this, i was surprised at this apollo player you mentioned. it sounds so much more different than winamp! although in winamp i boost the sound with quite some eq settings, apollo sounds richer and fuller even with its eq off. hmm.
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

There is a new tool available, works flawlessly also with old Winamp:
http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=11402

All you have to do is adjust the path to Winamp and your other players in TC2MP.INI, then you can use an easy button like that:

Code: Select all

Command: <path>\TC2MP.exe
Parameters: Winamp:%L
Icfu
This account is for sale
onikage
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2003-12-11, 08:34 UTC
Location: Czech Rep.

Post by *onikage »

thanks for the info. it is a neat utility. however, with my winamp, the "append" parameter works strangely: the selected files get appended to the beginning of the playlist and start playing immediately. "overwrite" works fine.

dunno, what's wrong. imho, appending should always put the files at the end of an existing playlist.
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

It works correctly here, change [Winamp] section in TC2MP.INI:

Code: Select all

CommandLine = /ADD "$PLAYLIST_"
Edit:
Ah well, you seem to use this new [Choose] option? I don't use that one. I have added the request in the above mentioned thread.

Edit2:
The app has been updated, now there is a new parameter AppendPosition=0 which defaults to "append at end".

Icfu
This account is for sale
onikage
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2003-12-11, 08:34 UTC
Location: Czech Rep.

Post by *onikage »

wow, what a speed!

hm, i had had the problem with both the Choose and Auto option, as well as with the "Winamp" argument.

with the new AppendPosition parameter, appending works correctly.
yet it didn't solve the problem with Winamp starting to play over and over again. i mean - after adding files to the playlist, they get appended all right, but the very first song of the (original) playlist starts playing over no matter what (even if it'd already been played before or if it was being replayed at the very moment).

seems to me this is a feature of tc2mp. it does not really append to the winamp's playlist but it always creates a new playlist of its own and passes it to the player. which, in the end, proves inefficient for me, as it flushes all files put into the playlist by any other means (say those directly drag/dropped from tcmd).
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

seems to me this is a feature of tc2mp. it does not really append to the winamp's playlist but it always creates a new playlist of its own and passes it to the player.
Yep, exactly, this is the downside of being able to make it work with all players. If you want "real" appending you need to use the player specific parameters".

Icfu
This account is for sale
fish73
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-03-04, 12:26 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *fish73 »

Hello,

I am using "TC2MP.exe" to place mp3 files into the playlist of Winamp.
It works very fine. Thanks a lot for this tool.

There is only one little problem.
I have to select the mp3-files and then I press the TC2MP-Button.
OK ... but:

I want to realize this operation with the F3 (or ALT+F3) Function.
Therefor I made under Configuration/Viewer an assignment for mp3-files in the following way:

[Path]\TC2MP.exe "Winamp: %L"

But it doesn't work.

I get the error message "Designated temporary List File(%L) from Total Commander does not exist"

How can I use "TC2MP.exe" (inclusive parameters) as a viewer ?

Thanks a lot.

fish73
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9535
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2fish73
Hi,

if you use TC 7 BETA 4 you can solve this quite simple:

Command: C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe /ADD
Parameters: %P%S

Done! ;-)
fish73
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-03-04, 12:26 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *fish73 »

Hello,

yes I am using the Beta 4 Version.

When I'm creating an assignment for mp3-files in the following way:
[path]\winamp.exe %P%S

My playlist looks like this:

1. %P%S
2. Song A

Song A is the last focused mp3 in TC.

A field "Parameter" is not available in the viewer definition.
Only a field for the file to execute.

Maybe I did something wrong :)
Where is the fault ?

Thanks a lot.

fish73
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9535
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2fish73
I'm sorry I must have overread the Lister part of your previous post :oops:

I guess there is no way to use these parameters in the Lister definition. It can be used only in a user command (that includes button, alias, directory menu, start menu, main menu and hotkey).
fish73
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-03-04, 12:26 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *fish73 »

@Lefteous

Thanks a lot for your help.

fish73
Post Reply