EK043-14 - Syreeta - Your Kiss Is Sweet.zip
EK043-15 - Kiki Dee - Amoureuse.zip
EK043-16 - Straycats - Runaway Boy.zip
EZH37-10 - Rice, Damien - Cannonball.zip
HSPAK2-03-09 - Humperdinck, Engelbert - Quando, Quando, Quando.zip
LG004-01 - Carpenters - Close To You.zip
LG004-02 - Carpenters - Yesterday Once More.zip
LG004-03 - Carpenters - Please MR Postman.zip

And, I would like to sort the files into folders, based on the part of the filename before the first "-". So, for the above files, the folders "EK043", "EZH37", "HSPAK2", and "LG004" would be created (if they didn't already exist), and then the files would be moved into the appropriate folder.

I am new to TC, so perhaps I am missing something, but it looks like the move function doesn't support regular expressions, and it looks like the multi-file rename function doesn't support directory creation...

If TC can't do this, then does anyone know of a product that can?

Oh, and there was one other *very* simple (but unrelated) thing I couldn't figure out how to do in TC - export a filelist to text....

Well, thanks if anyone can suggest a solution. Although there are a lot of apps out there for generating directory lists, I know of only one app, Magic File Renamer, that can sort files into folders based on filename.
szlori

Post by *szlori »

Hi, welcome aboard!
No, I don't think you can achieve something like this directly with TC.
However, it might be possible with the help of some scripts.
I'm sure the "script-gurus" will jump to help you. :wink:
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *StickyNomad »

2runner3734

Welcome too!
Oh, and there was one other *very* simple (but unrelated) thing I couldn't figure out how to do in TC - export a filelist to text....
For that you can use the commands 'cm_CopyNamesToClip' (copy filenames only) and 'cm_CopyFullNamesToClip' (copy filenemes with path).