[REQ] Choose Command box: Home/End key in filter box...

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

[REQ] Choose Command box: Home/End key in filter box...

Post by *icfu »

...doesn't work. Instead it is executed in command list which is very confusing.

Home/End should always be executed in the box which has the focus!

Icfu
Last edited by icfu on 2007-07-01, 16:31 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
This account is for sale
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3487
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Antalya, Turkey
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

It's intentional that the cursor moving keys are redirected to the list. Else you would have to switch to the command list to move the cursor up/down.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 10.52 / Win10 x64
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

It's intentional that the cursor moving keys are redirected to the list.
Not exactly. The present behaviour is like that, if filter box has focus:
Up/Down moves cursor in command list.
Left/Right moves cursor in filter box.

This behaviour is great, I like it.

But without Home/End in filter box it's not possible to quickly jump to the end or to the beginnig to add a * or whatever, that's very annoying.

I would enhance it like that:
1. Left/Right always sets focus to filter box!
2. Up/Down moves cursor in command list (no change)
3. Home/End key is executed in same location.

AHK needed again? I don't hope so...

Icfu
This account is for sale
User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3300
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Post by *Sir_SiLvA »

the Bug is that the Focus is set on the CommandBox instead of the Category-Box.
Hope this gets fixed in next beta :D
Hoecker sie sind raus!
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3487
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Antalya, Turkey
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

icfu wrote:Not exactly. The present behaviour is like that, if filter box has focus:
Up/Down moves cursor in command list.
Left/Right moves cursor in filter box.
Sorry, I meant not all cursor movement keys but ones that have any meaning in application to the command list. Left/Right could do nothing useful there.

What about Home/End... Well, I would suggest another solution: Home/End move cursor in the command list while Alt+Home/Alt+End move it in the filter editbox. Or Ctrl+Home/Ctrl+End.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 10.52 / Win10 x64
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

That's an option too, ok.

In this case I would prefer Ctrl modifier because Shift is needed too for marking complete content and Ctrl+Shift is more comfortable than Alt+Shift combination.

Alternative:
Why not use Ctrl modifier for the command list? In there no Shift is needed, so it's the more natural solution I think because Ctrl+Home/End is used in text editors for example to jump to top/bottom anyway.

I just can't get used to have standard edit boxes not work with Home/End and would prefer them work "as usual", also because I regard the filter box as most important element here. It decides what content is listed in command list, not vice versa, and should therefore not be limited in functionality.

Maybe others can add their opinions too?

Icfu
This account is for sale
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14811
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Why not use Ctrl modifier for the command list?
Support+++

I just can't get used to have standard edit boxes not work with Home/End and would prefer them work "as usual"
I totally agree.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3487
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Antalya, Turkey
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

icfu wrote:Why not use Ctrl modifier for the command list?
Agree, this would seem more logical.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 10.52 / Win10 x64
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13068
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

[mod]Moved to TC 7 beta discussion.

Hacker (Moderator)[/mod]
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Another addition from Clo which is very closely related:
http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=100972#100972

He proposes the usage of Shift in command box to mark more than one command for copying to clipboard.

Icfu
This account is for sale
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Has this been discussed in the beta test? Nothing has changed, so AHK again... Sad.

This script restores normal editbox functionality:
Home/End will work in editbox when it has focus. With pressing Ctrl you can still jump to start/end in the command list.

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive, ahk_class TCmdSelForm
Home::
Remapped := "^{Left}"
Original := "{Home}"
Gosub, Check
Return

End::
Remapped := "^{Right}"
Original := "{End}"
Gosub, Check
Return

Check:
ControlGetFocus, Focus
If (Focus = "TEdit1")
  Send, %Remapped%
Else
  Send, %Original%
Return
Icfu
This account is for sale
Post Reply