This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How do you "run" a plug-in?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MarkFilipak
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 70
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:17 pm    Post subject: How do you "run" a plug-in? Reply with quote

I installed the NTLinks WDX. How do I "run" it?

There are Win10 links:
    c:\Users\All Users\Application Data\Start Menu\
    c:\Users\All Users\Start Menu\
    c:\Users\Default\Start Menu\
    c:\Users\Default User\Start Menu\
    c:\Users\mark\Start Menu\
and in all of their property sheets, the 'Target' attribute is empty. I need to identify the targets. Win10 is messing with my Start Menu items.

Do WDXs have user interfaces? Where are they?

Thanks.
_________________
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5923
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php?title=Content_plugin should tell you everything you need to know about WDX plugins.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MarkFilipak
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 70
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:29 pm    Post subject: How do you "run" a plug-in? Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php?title=Content_plugin should tell you everything you need to know about WDX plugins.

Thanks for replying, Dalai, but there's no "Use" information (or link) in the wiki page about the NTLinks WDX, and the plug-in's author doesn't document how it's used (or launched). I was hoping someone here would know.

It did install, and I do need it to defend against the stunts that Win10 does in its misbegotten attempt to control its users (Me!). You see, I had 2 programs in my Startup directory, but Windows decided to delete them, but then, they still run on Startup (and they're not on a "Run" line in the Windows Registry). ...Windows 10 is driving me to suicide.
_________________
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7983
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually WDX plugins are used to retrieve some information in tooltips or custom columns (I mostly use it in tooltips where I see the target and real path because I don't use custom columns often). In attributes dialog WDX plugins are mainly used for setting values, so initially fields are empty, thats by TC design. However you can click ">>" button near the field and plugin will put current link target path into the field.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nsp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 1163
Location: Lyon (FRANCE)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MVV wrote:
Usually WDX plugins are used to retrieve some information in tooltips or custom columns (I mostly use it in tooltips where I see the target and real path because I don't use custom columns often). In attributes dialog WDX plugins are mainly used for setting values, so initially fields are empty, thats by TC design. However you can click ">>" button near the field and plugin will put current link target path into the field.


All WDX works the same !
Some plugin have embeded ui you can reach with rundll to run it directly generally to configure it. The safiest way is to give a look to open source project that use it like : AHK Multi rename script or Super WDX or WDX guide or even double commander....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
MarkFilipak
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 70
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MVV wrote:
Usually WDX plugins are used to retrieve some information in tooltips ...

Wouldn't the context menu be more convenient? Or Properties? -- though you probably don't have access to property sheets.
Quote:
... In attributes dialog WDX plugins are mainly used for setting values, so initially fields are empty, thats by TC design. However you can click ">>" button near the field and plugin will put current link target path into the field.

With your clues, I stumbled into it. ...I would never have guessed...

NTLinks is your plug-in, isn't it?

What about this as a general WDX solution: If TC had an "Extended Properties" drop target to which plug-ins could add functionality, then users could drag a file/directory to the drop target to get/display extended properties (including target for <LNK> objects). All of that functionality could be internal to TC and, therefore, not reliant on context menus or attributes. And, WDXs would not need to be configured.

PS: I should explain a little more. ... All you (WDX authors) need is the path/name of the file or directory, right? Well, what if there was a text line for users to enter path/name... but of course, even better, let the user drag a file or directory to the drop target and let the drop target pass the path/name string to your WDX. Get it?
_________________
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7983
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Wouldn't the context menu be more convenient? Or Properties? -- though you probably don't have access to property sheets.

As nsp said, all WDX plugins work in the same way, they use the same interface which allows to use them for retrieving values (in tooltips, custom columns, multi-rename tool etc) or setting values (in attributes dialog). WDX plugins don't have any access to context menus.

If you wanna a more convenient way of creating links, you can try my NTLinks Maker tool which only creates links with TC-style dialog.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…


Last edited by MVV on Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MarkFilipak
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 70
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MVV wrote:
... WDX plugins don't have any access to context menus ...

Well, I guessed that would be the case. That's why I suggest a WDX extended properties drop target in the 2nd half of my post. What do you think of it?

PS: I'm not creating links. I'm trying to discover the target of Windows links when Windows hides the target string.
_________________
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7983
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
PS: I'm not creating links. I'm trying to discover the target of Windows links when Windows hides the target string.

I don't think that context menu is a good way of viewing file property. I've said how I do it: I use tooltips. Open Configuration, Display, Help texts, User-defined, add file/folder mask or template, OK, type custom field expression, e.g.:
Code:
Real path: [=ntlinks.Real path]\n[=ntlinks.Object Type]: [=ntlinks.Target path]\n

(I use this expression for reparse points only, i.e. in file template I have rule "tc.file type = reparse point")
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group