Always show auto rename copied

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
HAL 9000
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:05 UTC

Always show auto rename copied

Post by *HAL 9000 »

I often use auto rename copied but it's hidden in copy dialog by default, is there a way to always show it?
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

From my testing, and searching the Help File's ini options, I don't see how that can be auto-selected.

I also don't see any difference in functionality between 5 and 6:
5) Auto-rename copied
6) Auto-rename target

They both appear to auto-rename target...

You could use an AHK hotkey, though many don't like that option.
This auto-chooses option 6 of the Advanced Overwrite options:

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive, ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
{
	F5::
	{
		Send, {F5}
		WinWaitActive, ahk_class TInpComboDlg,,2
		if( !ErrorLevel )
			Send, !{o}6
	return
	}
return
}
HAL 9000
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:05 UTC

Post by *HAL 9000 »

Maybe showing an "auto rename copied" button is the best way.
User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 »

Balderstrom wrote:I also don't see any difference in functionality between 5 and 6:
5) Auto-rename copied
6) Auto-rename target

They both appear to auto-rename target...
They are not the same
5) Auto-rename copied renames the source file.
6) Auto-rename target renames the target file.
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

When you use them? what happens?

The target file gets a number appended to its name. No matter which option is selected, the target gets a modified name.
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 »

Balderstrom wrote:When you use them? what happens?

The target file gets a number appended to its name. No matter which option is selected, the target gets a modified name.
If the two files are identical then there is no difference between 5 and 6.
To know what happens, test with two different files.

Example:
Copied file: my_file.txt contains "12345"
Target file: my_file.txt contains "6789"

5) Auto-rename copied end up with

Code: Select all

my_file(2).txt contains "12345"
my_file.txt contains "6789"
6) Auto-rename target end up with

Code: Select all

my_file.txt contains "12345"
my_file(2).txt contains "6789"
Using an option over the other depend on what you want e.g
If you want to keep the latest version of a file numbered then use Auto-rename copied
If you want to keep numbered backups then use Auto-rename target
HAL 9000
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:05 UTC

Post by *HAL 9000 »

Copy/Move/Extract Dialog buttons should be customizable, so we can order, add-remove the buttons we often use. :idea:
User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC »

Man this is confusing.

Perhaps "Auto-renamed copied" should read "Auto-renamed source" instead?
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

JohnFredC wrote:Man this is confusing.

Perhaps "Auto-renamed copied" should read "Auto-renamed source" instead?
This advanced option under "Options>>" button or in "More options>>" menu is named exactly "Auto-renamed copied".
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

JohnFredC wrote:Man this is confusing.

Perhaps "Auto-renamed copied" should read "Auto-renamed source" instead?
Indeed. It's functionality that isn't even hinted at in the help file.

The function is more like:
Auto-rename copied --> Auto-rename (Last/ Append to)
Auto-rename target --> Auto-rename (First/ Renumber)
When using Auto-rename target:
copy #1: FILE.txt :: "123456"
copy #2: FILE.txt :: "23456"
copy #3: FILE.txt :: "3456"
copy #4: FILE.txt :: "456"
FILE.txt, is always the newest file AND FILE(2), is always the Oldest file.:
FILE.txt ==:: "456"
FILE(2).txt :: "123456"
FILE(3).txt :: "23456"
FILE(4).txt :: "3456"
Though if you started mixing and matching Auto-rename copied and Auto-rename target the results would get jumbled fairly quickly. I.E. An accidental use of "Auto-rename copied" with 'FILE.txt :: "56", would give us:
FILE.txt ==:: "456"
FILE(2).txt :: "123456"
FILE(3).txt :: "23456"
FILE(4).txt :: "3456"
FILE(5).txt :: "56"
HAL 9000
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:05 UTC

Post by *HAL 9000 »

It's no matter which one, ı need one of that auto-rename function always visible on the file operations dialog.
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

HAL 9000 wrote:Copy/Move/Extract Dialog buttons should be customizable, so we can order, add-remove the buttons we often use. :idea:
It would be acceptable for an .ini setting, i.e.
CopyShowOptions= [ 0-8 ]

0: Normal / Current Behaviour
1-8: Always expand options, and preselect item #,
i.e. CopyShowOptions= 6

Optionally, an additional checkbox on the dialog that can be ticked to update the current CopyShowOptions .ini setting when something else is selected from the Advanced pulldown menu.
Post Reply