This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

FS-plugin: VirtualDisk
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mame
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Dec 2011
Posts: 54
Location: Everywhere

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flint wrote:
This option is set for each image separately, and by default it's turned off.

Yes. Just I didn't like the idea of a missing DLL from drive G:\ lurking in startup, cause it's there even I'm not mounting anything. I'm just avoiding an error possibility.

EDIT:
Confirmed, v1.3.3.5300 in HKCU - rundll32 "G:\Totalcmd\plugins\wfx\VirtualDisk\VirtualDisk.wfx",MountAfterReboot

Flashdrive G: running portable TC, mount some image, unmount, delete. Registry still there.
G: most probably won't be available anymore during windows startup, while rundll32.exe will try to run it anyways...

Flint wrote:
disabling the very possibility of auto-mounting (that is, not creating the autostart entry at all)

Exactly Very Happy TYVM. It's settled then.
_________________
I hereby claim copyright to this message you are now reading,
and for that you owe me a $1 royalty fee each time you read this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, my work on the version 2.0 goes too slowly. I wanted to release it as the first 64-bit version, but I see that it will take much more time than I hoped. So I decided to rebuild the version 1.3.3 of the plugin for x64 architecture and update the package now. The download links remain the same as earlier (first, second).
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Oesie
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just installed the plugin but how do I mount it with Total Commander?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oesie
Please, take a look at the ReadMe files in the Descript subdirectory. I didn't write them just to improve my typing skills…
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Oesie
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flint wrote:
Oesie
Please, take a look at the ReadMe files in the Descript subdirectory. I didn't write them just to improve my typing skills…

My apologies, I missed that section somehow Embarassed
Working flawlesly Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
V.V.
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:09 am    Post subject: system - logical device Reply with quote

5. Подключённый диск не виден программами, которые получают список дисков из списка системных устройств. Это связано с тем, что новый диск не является системным устройством, а виден только как логический диск.

And no way to fix this? So pitty...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
V.V.
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"5. The new drive is not visible for programs that get drives list from list of system devices. This is so, because this new drive is not a system device but just a logical drive. In future versions I'll try to add creation of the appropriate system device."
Sorry for quoting Russian help.
In English, it sounds more promising. Is any progress/hope there?
Otherwise - great program, thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

V.V. wrote:
In English, it sounds more promising. Is any progress/hope there?

Unfortunately, no. It requires advanced driver programming knowledge (which I don't have) or switching from FileDisk to a different similar project that would implement such feature (which would require much work to learn the new driver's interactions and reprogram the plugin to support it). Both these alternatives are not in my nearest plans, sorry.

PS: The difference between English and Russian descriptions is accidental. I probably just forgot to compare them after editing.

V.V. wrote:
Otherwise - great program, thank you.

You are welcome. I do wish I had more time to spend on this project… Sad
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rainer.wendland
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 240
Location: Weserbergland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed the plugin 1.3.3, copied the amd64 driver into the drivers-folder of system32 and double-clicked the reg-file.
By copying an iso-file into the plugin-folder and mounting as cd/dvd, this error-message occured in vlc-player:
Quote:
File reading failed:
VLC could not open the file "Virtual Disks\STARDUST_GR.iso". (Bad file descriptor)
Your input can't be opened:
VLC is unable to open the MRL 'file:///Virtual%20Disks/STARDUST_GR.iso'. Check the log for details.

What is this about? Any solution?
_________________
herzliche Grüße
Rainer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rainer.wendland
"Virtual Disks" is a virtual folder, how could VLC know that there is such folder somewhere within TC created by some TC-specific plugin? You should never pass virtual paths into external applications, they won't understand them.

Mounting an image is creating a new system drive assigned to the letter of your choice (for example, Z:). You should use this new drive after mounting.
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rainer.wendland
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 240
Location: Weserbergland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, thanx for quick answer. You're right, with Z and the contained videa_ts - file the video is played by VLC.
But still not by WinDVD.
Up to now I used another tool called VirtualCloneDrive, and the same iso-file is recognized by WinDVD. The file is put into the virtual drive directly. So its little different to the behaviour of Your plugin, isn't it?
Any idea about that?
_________________
herzliche Grüße
Rainer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rainer.wendland
I don't know how WinDVD works, neither how VirtualCloneDrive, so I cannot tell what's wrong. I can only guess that maybe VirtualCloneDrive emulates hardware device, and WinDVD requires it for playing DVD, while my plugin's driver emulates only virtual volume without any physical device to back it.
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rainer.wendland
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 240
Location: Weserbergland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it is said that VirtualCloneDrive has a behaviour like a physical drive.
Q: is it difficult to change your driver's behaviour, emulating a physical drive as well?
_________________
herzliche Grüße
Rainer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rainer.wendland wrote:
Q: is it difficult to change your driver's behaviour, emulating a physical drive as well?

Actually, I don't know. I'm not very good at driver programming, and all I did for the plugin was minor adjusting the open source driver project (filedisk) to my needs. Adding a physical device might require changing the whole driver structure.
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rainer.wendland
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 240
Location: Weserbergland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So there is no open source project containing what is needed for emulating physical drive?
_________________
herzliche Grüße
Rainer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 9 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group