This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

FS-plugin: VirtualDisk
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JJM
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 78
Location: Port Saint Hubert, FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2004 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

made modifications, the problem is always whole!!!

tp://14jjm22.free.fr/Virtualrw.gif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3074
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2004 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm... I've just seen the size of the image you are trying to mount - it is 704.1 MB. Maybe, it is too large to be mounted? Is there some dependence in sizes of images that cannot be mounted?
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
á
Using TC 9.10β1 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
JJM
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 78
Location: Port Saint Hubert, FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2004 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it is that an image smaller than 704 M were assembled successfully
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
CoMiKe
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 05 May 2003
Posts: 281
Location: Salamanca, Spain

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried this plugin under win98se and I got the same problem about the image path. I've tested allocating the filedisk.sys file in c:\windows\system, c:\windows\system32\drivers, and c:\windows\system\iosubsys, neither of them working at all. I've got Daemon Tools installed, although no virtual Daemon Tools' drive was installed at the moment i was trying the plugin. Hope this helps in the development, this is a very interesting plugin!

And please let me gave you a suggestion. It would be wonderful if you can copy files and dirs to the virtual drive (network neighborhood) folder and it show them in the virtual drive as if it were a real cdrom or drive, something like a subst but more flexible! Although I know it would require some hard modifications on both plugin and filedisk.sys driver.

Anyway, great plugin!!

Greetings! CoMiKe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mister Floppy
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 19
Location: Erde

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:27 pm    Post subject: Will there be support for other image formats? Reply with quote

Hi,

will there be support for other image formats, say BIN, CUE, NRG?

Bye

Mister Floppy
_________________
Gib Spam keine Chance: www.sneakemail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3074
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mister Floppy
BIN is supported already as it is usual binary copy of the disk. All formats that are not native Windows formats are not supported and will not be supported for long time - it requires rewriting all the driver from the beginning and I have not enough knowledge for this jet... Sad
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
á
Using TC 9.10β1 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ron
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Work this plugin only with full Admin rights?

Sorry, my english is... Embarassed

German: Funktioniert das Plugin nur mit Admin-Rechten?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3074
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ron
Unfortunately, it is so. I've forgotten to test it under non-Admin rights, but now I've checked - it did not work Sad

Deutsch: Leider, Sie haben recht. Ich habe vergessen es zu prufen mit nicht-Admin-Rechten, aber ich habe gepruft es jetzt eben - es funktioniert nicht Sad

Sorry, my German is Embarassed Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 3693
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I stumbled into this thread while searching for a a tool for creating floppy images. Please, how do you create a floppy image for backup purposes, so that later i can recreate the floppy?
_________________
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 5150
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VGACOPY is my favoured programm - unfortunately it doesn't work with XP. Guess it needs drectly and unlimited access to the floppy-controller.

sheepdog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3074
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sheepdog
I usually use WinImage. Its only restriction is that diskette must be recognizable by Windows, else WinImage will not create IMG-file (in latest versions they are called IMA-files). As my plugin also requires that Windows supports the format of IMG-file, this restriction is acceptable.
Also you can create new IMG-file with size of 1 474 560 bytes (with any content!), mount it with my plugin, type format z: /fs:fat, and you will have an image of empty floppy diskette. Then you can copy on Z: files you want (for example, from the original diskette) and unmount this image. The resultant image file you can later write onto any diskette and it will have all the files you had copied on the image. The minus of this method is that IMG-file you will have is not the same to the original diskette. For example, if files were fragmented, they will not in the resultant IMG-file. For most cases this wil not result in any functionality loss, but sometimes this can be not acceptable.

PS: If you want to create IMG-file of non-Windows diskette, you can use any of numerous other programs, for example you can open floppy fisk in WinHex and save it into file in binary form.

PPS: Later I will add to my plugin creating of new empty IMG-file with autoformatting. Also I want to add creating of IMG- and ISO-images from original floppy and CD disks, but this is long work and I have almost no free time to make it Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 3693
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Sheepdog
2Flint
Thanks guys. I'm using XP, so VGACOPY is not working i guess. WinImage in not free, do you guys know of a free alternative?
_________________
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3074
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try free tool RawWrite:
http://uranus.it.swin.edu.au/~jn/linux/rawwrite.htm
It can read/write floppy images and works under almost all Windows versions (included XP).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 3693
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Flint
Thanks, looks promising!
_________________
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chriss
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 199

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SanskritFritz wrote:
2Sheepdog
2Flint
Thanks guys. I'm using XP, so VGACOPY is not working i guess. WinImage in not free, do you guys know of a free alternative?


yes, i belive this one could be what your lookin for: http://www.mirkes.de/de/freeware/flpmstr.php

well, i suppose the biggest problem will be that this program is (only?) german. however its a great freeware to work with boot floppy images.
_________________
gru▀


chriss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 2 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group