Suggestion to attract new users

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Beano

Suggestion to attract new users

Post by *Beano »

TC is awesome and feature-packed.... and I have been using it for more than 10 years now :)

But when I try to "sell" non-users the idea of trying TC, people usually get scared away by the ugly default look, and never give the product the chance it deserves and "defaults" back to the lame Explorer in Windows.

Yes... a lot of things in TC can be tweaked and customized with colors, fonts, buttons, etc, but new users never get this far.

My suggestion for v7.0 : do a major UI overhaul with "fresh eyes"... get new buttons/icons, nicer toolbars, splash-screen, re-design dialogs and make them nicer to look at and have greater consitency... in short : make TC more "sexy" to look at from the start :)

This may not affect the use of the product but I'm sure that this will attract far more new users... which means more money to Christian :)

Keep up the good work... looking forward to the next version as allways :)

P.S : Have any v7.0 features been announced yet ?
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *Lefteous »

Beano

Post by *Beano »

Sounds great :)

Have Christian talked about a time-frame for the v7 release ?
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *SanskritFritz »

Have Christian talked about a time-frame for the v7 release ?
AFAIK No :-(
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
Sam_Zen
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *Sam_Zen »

I agree about the difficulty to 'sell' TC to the average user. But I don't agree about the easy solution to make TC more 'sexy'. TC is not a replacement in some race with exploder, it is more. It's a desktop with all the tools, apps and files you need to work with. And I don't think there is anything 'ugly' about a list of files, in readable text, with their properties, in lines under each other.