Hide Dir hotlist entry

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4309
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Its fine to have such an option with beta 9
but it would be easier to have a Hide/Unhide button for this function.
Now I must use Edit and add or remove the character.
Also I suggest using ; as default character and not ?
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1055)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1263a (x64)
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10583
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *petermad »

Now I must use Edit and add or remove the character.
It is easier than that:
Help wrote:Once the option has been enabled, you can double click on a menu item to hide/show it.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00rc2 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H1) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1005 (x64)
TC 3.22 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1191
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *Usher »

2petermad
Have you tried to enable that option?
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10583
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *petermad »

Have you tried to enable that option?
Yes, and once it is enabled, I can just doubleclick on any item in the list in the "Change directory menu" dialog, then the chosen character is added in front of the title of the item - and a new doubleclick removes the character again.

That is why I am telling Horst.Epp that he doesn't have to Edit the entries to add or remove the character, he just have to doubleclick - as explained in TC's Help.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00rc2 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H1) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1005 (x64)
TC 3.22 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1191
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *Usher »

2petermad
But enabling doesn't work as expected (at least in my XP case).

Test it with a fresh ini. When you click the "Hide menu items" checkbox for the very fist time, you will see a dialog window with EMPTY edit field. You have to fill this field even if you don't want to change the special character. Then you have to click OK. It's annoying. For me OK is needed only when I want to accept character change.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41218
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

You are right, this is a bug, it should actually put the ? in the edit box.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4309
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *Horst.Epp »

petermad wrote: 2021-05-07, 01:44 UTC
Have you tried to enable that option?
Yes, and once it is enabled, I can just doubleclick on any item in the list in the "Change directory menu" dialog, then the chosen character is added in front of the title of the item - and a new doubleclick removes the character again.

That is why I am telling Horst.Epp that he doesn't have to Edit the entries to add or remove the character, he just have to doubleclick - as explained in TC's Help.
The double click function should be mentioned in the History :(
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1055)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1263a (x64)
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1191
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *Usher »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2021-05-07, 07:22 UTC You are right, this is a bug, it should actually put the ? in the edit box.
And what about "OK" currently needed to confirm turning checkbox on?
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41218
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This is intentional. You will just need to click OK when you don't want to change the special character.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1191
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *Usher »

2ghisler(Author)
It's reverse that what I think. I need to click OK only to confirm character change. It is a very rare case for me while hiding/unhiding may be more frequent.
I don't need this dialog. Why don't you just add separate edit field with that character? Something like that:

☑ Hide menu items starting with this character: [? ]
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10583
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *petermad »

☑ Hide menu items starting with this character: [? ]
Support++
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00rc2 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H1) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1005 (x64)
TC 3.22 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4309
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Usher wrote: 2021-05-09, 11:22 UTC 2ghisler(Author)
...
☑ Hide menu items starting with this character: [? ]
Support++
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1055)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1263a (x64)
hi5
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: 2012-11-03, 11:35 UTC
Contact:

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *hi5 »

Usher wrote: 2021-05-09, 11:22 UTC ☑ Hide menu items starting with this character: [? ]
+1
F4MiniMenu - Open selected file(s) from TC in defined editor(s) - A (minimalistic) clone of F4Menu
Source at GitHub (AutoHotkey) - TC Forum thread. TCSyncComments (copy file comments)
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41218
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

But when the user clicks Cancel after clickong on "Hide menu items...", it means that he doesn't want to activate the function?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4309
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Hide Dir hotlist entry

Post by *Horst.Epp »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2021-05-10, 08:53 UTC But when the user clicks Cancel after clickong on "Hide menu items...", it means that he doesn't want to activate the function?
It doesn't hurt if the function is enabled by default with the default character.
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1055)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1263a (x64)
Post Reply