TC doesn't show and doesn't delete ems with no command

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

TC doesn't show and doesn't delete ems with no command

Post by *MVV »

Steps are simple:
1. Open command browser: cm_CommandBrowser.
2. Select section usercmd.ini.
3. Click 'New' button and type name e.g. em_aaa.
4. Fill some fields except first one (command) and click OK.
5. There is no command em_aaa shown in the list.
6. Repeat step 3 with same command name.
7. You see field values that you've entered in step 4.

I think TC should do only one of two following things, not mix them:
1. Show commands with empty command field in list so users would see partly filled commands.
2. Don't save commands with empty command field at all: since TC doesn't show them in list, they are GARBAGE and shouldn't be stored in usercmd.ini.

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white »

Confirmed.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: TC doesn't show and doesn't delete ems with no command

Post by *MVV »

Still not fixed. I can create a command and, if it is not fully filled, it may be invisible in command browser but exist in usercmd.ini file. E.g. create a command and fill only icon parameter, or don't fill any parameters at all (perhaps such commands shouldn't be added to usercmd.ini at all, but if they added, they should be visible in list too).

Also, please move to bugs section, it is more a bug report than a suggestion.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39721
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TC doesn't show and doesn't delete ems with no command

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

em_x entries without a command do not exist for TC, they are ignored because they wouldn't do anything.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9661
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: TC doesn't show and doesn't delete ems with no command

Post by *petermad »

they are ignored because they wouldn't do anything.
Sure, but then they should not be saved in usercmd.ini when made or edited via the user interface.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: TC doesn't show and doesn't delete ems with no command

Post by *MVV »

Still not fixed in TC 9.50b3.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39721
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TC doesn't show and doesn't delete ems with no command

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Sorry, I will not change this behaviour.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply