Queue (F2) files AFTER starting F5 copy/F6 move

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Ulf
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008-09-26, 20:11 UTC

Queue (F2) files AFTER starting F5 copy/F6 move

Post by *Ulf »

Is there some reason why one cannot create a queue of a running copy/move command? The only option is Background which is not the same as an F2 queue.

Example: say I'm moving a large number of files. I then realize I want to move some additional files to the same target location. It would be very nice to then be able to F2 the current F6-move process and add the additional files to the F2 queue. If I Background the current command and F2 the additional files, those two commands will be running in parallel which is not very efficient at least for mechanical HDD targets.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6970
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

Maybe you want AlwaysCopyInBackground=2? See TC help, section 4.b) for more info.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

Ulf
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008-09-26, 20:11 UTC

Post by *Ulf »

Great, I'll use that!

silk
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-01-06, 01:52 UTC

Re: Queue (F2) files AFTER starting F5 copy/F6 move

Post by *silk »

Could we request that the ability to queue a file move or copy already in progress be added as a button on the move/copy window?
I have run into the same scenario countless times and it would be nice to have that button available.

Post Reply