[cosmetical] Search window has no minimal size

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1933
Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
Location: Germany

[cosmetical] Search window has no minimal size

Post by *StickyNomad »

This really is no big deal:

Currently the search window's width can be decreased until only the buttons are shown. Perhaps there could be set a minimal width like in other dialogs.

A minimal value of about 550 pixels seems to be OK on first glance...

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

552 is OK

Post by *Clo »

2StickyNomad

:) Hello !

• I agree. I've set 552 pixels for the captures in the French Tutorial, it's OK, all items are shown, and it's not too wide…

:mrgreen: VG
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

552px seems to be the best minimum value here too.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I will consider that, thanks for your suggestion.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

In TC7pb3 the Search window now has a minimum size:
28.11.06 Added: Search window now has minimum size. Unresolved: Text in all boxes gets selected on resize
It is now set to minimum 549 pixels - but IMHO it would look much better if it was set to minimum 552 pixels - as previously suggested by several.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Why would 3 pixels make such a big difference? I prefer it like it is now.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Why would 3 pixels make such a big difference
Because of: http://www.madsen.homepage.dk/tcmd/search2.png
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC »

And here is how the new minimum size looks on my system (1920x1200 "Large" fonts).
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2JohnFredC
I know that those 3 pixels wouldn't help in your situation, but it would at least benefit the 80% (I guess) that do not use the "Large fonts" setting.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1933
Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StickyNomad »

Hm, I had another look at it, and when using the english language, with a width of 552 pix, the label 'encrypted' on the 'advanced' page still is a bit truncated. 555 pix would suffice to show everything.

I think it is not mandatory to set the minimum width fitting to all possible languages/themes/font settings. But at least when using the classic theme, the built-in language and default font settings, truncated strings should be avoided. This just look a bit odd and are a little optical annoyance.

In addition, the search window isn't modal, so you can't do anything with the underlying TC window anyway, thus a very narrow search window hasn't a real benefit. So I'd prefer a minimum size that still shows all strings and controls.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

But at least when using the classic theme, the built-in language and default font settings, truncated strings should be avoided
Eactly what I think too. I would prefer 555 pixels too (because of the Advanced tab) - but I didn't want to press my luck.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1933
Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StickyNomad »

2petermad

OK, let's see what Christian says. After all, I won't start any struggle for those few additional pixels, and see this more as a proposal than as an actual request. But those truncated strings just look a little bit like an accidential glitch.

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3308
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

My $0.05.
I think, that there is no necessity of limiting the possibility of resizing the dialog for so quite large a width. What if someone prefers to make it more narrow, even at the cost of the possible cut text labels? (e.g. when he's working in 640x480) What if someone uses another language, where the strings are shorter than the English ones - and the question will arouse, "why cannot I contract the dialog - there is so much empty space left?!"

My personal opinion: leave the minimum size at the relatively small value (smth like 500px), but by default open the search dialog with the width of e.g. 555px or whatever is needed. Let the user choose!
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.51 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

I won't start any struggle for those few additional pixels, and see this more as a proposal than as an actual request. But those truncated strings just look a little bit like an accidential glitch
I agree.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1933
Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StickyNomad »

2Flint
leave the minimum size at the relatively small value (smth like 500px), but by default open the search dialog with the width of e.g. 555px or whatever is needed. Let the user choose!
Hm, not bad :) Indeed I simply didn't think about setting a default size different from the minimal size :?

A smaller minimum size might be of use with very small resolutions, so your sugestion further increases freedom of use indeed. So Support!

If such solution would be implemented, the default size could perhaps even more increased to prevent truncated labels also with more common languages (for german, it would be ~567 pixels), but that's not mandatory...

Post Reply