Change Title on Change directory menu

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
tridy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2003-11-27, 07:51 UTC
Location: Еurоpе

Change Title on Change directory menu

Post by *tridy »

A pretty small thing:
When editing a directory menu (Ctrl+D), it's possible to add "--" or "---" or any 2+ length of "-" sign. After added , it's not possible to change the title for it.

"--" is a symbol for the end of the submenu but "---" is not. Maybe(?) "---"+ could work as a a separator or trimmed back to "-" automatically.

Well, the main idea is that when "--" item is selected, you can press "Change Title" and nothing will happen. As the start, I believe it's a good idea to have the button disabled when one selects "--" from the list.
Last edited by tridy on 2007-03-09, 12:07 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
[tridy]
License #: 79539

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Well, the main idea is that when "--" item is selected, you can press "Change Title" and nothing will happen. As the start, I believe it's a good idea to have the button disabled when one selects "--" from the list.
I agree.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I will change that, thanks for your suggestion.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Still NOT changed in TC7rc1 :-(
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I could not reproduce this error. Maybe I just misunderstand it?
When editing a directory menu (Ctrl+D), it's possible to add "--" or "---" or any 2+ length of "-" sign. After added , it's not possible to change the title for it.
So what I did is the following:
1. Press Ctrl+D
2. Click on any item
3. Click on "Change title"
4. Changed the title from sometitle to sometitle--
5. Click on "Change title" again
6. Changed the title from sometitle-- back to sometitle
7. Click on "Change title" again
8. Tried to Change the title from sometitle to --sometitle. This was refused.

I did not encounter any problems. What problems do you have? Please give me step by step instructions!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2ghisler(Author)
When editing a directory menu (Ctrl+D), it's possible to add "--" or "---" or any 2+ length of "-" sign. After added , it's not possible to change the title for it.
I don't have any problems like that either.


When I wrote Not fixed, I was referring to:
when "--" item is selected, you can press "Change Title" and nothing will happen. As the start, I believe it's a good idea to have the button disabled when one selects "--" from the list.
If I put the cursor over a "--" item (end marker of a submenu), I expect the button "Change title..." to appear as disabled - since I cannot rename "--"
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

If I put the cursor over a "--" item (end marker of a submenu), I expect the button "Change title..." to appear as disabled - since I cannot rename "--"
Fixed in TC7rc4 :-)
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply