[glitch] Thumbnail view & quickview

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1933
Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
Location: Germany

[glitch] Thumbnail view & quickview

Post by *StickyNomad »

I just stumbled upon the following little glitch:

See video

How to reproduce (IF it is reproducable by anyone):

1. set and save a different splitter position when quickview is active, so that less thumbnails fit in a row with quickview is on.

2. turn on thumbs view. Be sure to have a suitable amount of thumbs displayed. At least here, the bug only occurs if the second row of thumbs isn't filled completely. With two more thumbs in the folder I tested, the issue doesn't occur anymore.

3. select the last thumb in the first row

4. activate quickview

-> when the splitter is moved and the thumbs are re-arranged to fit the new panel width, the selcted thumb is shown two times: once at the expected position AND partially in the first row, exceeding the panel. If you click on another thumb, the obsolete thumb vanishes.

I could reproduce this only for certain window widths/Splitter positions, so you might have to try around a bit.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

I can confirm this, although it wasn't easy.

My conditions:
TC window size: 1024x768 pixels (maximized)
Thumbnail size: 96x72 pixels
Quickview splitter position: 40/60 % (QuickView has the 60%)
Menuline: on
Buttonbar: on
Drivebuttons: on
Drive combobox: on
Current directory: on
Status bar: on
Command line: on
Function keys: on
Folder tabs: none
Windows Taskbar: horizontal, on

Number of tumbnails under these conditions where I can reproduce the bug: 4, 5 or 8

Another observation: If I for example turn on the QuickView at 60% as above, select the last thumbnail in the first row and then toggle Ctrl+Q back an forth the file selection jumps one file to the right until it reaches the last file.
Last edited by petermad on 2007-04-19, 14:54 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1933
Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StickyNomad »

I can confirm this, although it wasn't easy.
Yes, I can imagine :)
Actually I just accidentially must have hit reproducable sizes/positions.

Thanks for those detailed values, I didn't inquire in detail.

Interface elements like buttonbar/commandline/function key buttons etc. seem to make no difference, though. My currently saved settings enable me to always reproduce this behaviour (with a thumb size of 128x128), independent from any interface element.
Another observation: If I for example turn on the QuickView at 60% as above, select the last thumbnail in the first row and then toggle Ctrl+Q back an force the file selection jumps one file to the right until it reaches the last file.
You are right, confirmed, too.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Interface elements like buttonbar/commandline/function key buttons etc. seem to make no difference
I only presented them, because they influence the height of the file panels. The bug is not present if wrapping occurs. It might even be so that the bug is reproducable with other numbers of thumbnails, if the file panel is higher.

EDIT:
I have now tried with ONLY the menu bar enabled. Still the same - the bug appears with 4, 5 or 8 thumbnails of the mentioned size. It seems to be of no importance whether I have "Show custom fields below thumbnails" enabled or not (adds an extra line under the thumbnails).
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I will check that, thanks.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Ini file with wich this can be reproduced (at least on my computer):

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
ResolutionSpecific=0
ThumbsLocation=
ThumbWidthNoCache=96
ThumbHeightNoCache=72

[AllResolutions]
maximized=0
Divider=500
DividerQuickView=400
x=66
y=33
dx=889
dy=653

[Colors]
InverseCursor=1

[left]
SpecialView=2

[right]
SpecialView=0
Use a folder with 5 pictures with an aspect of 1024x768 pixels for testing (i.e. for example 800x600 or 1600x1200 can also be used).

If InverseCursor=0 you will NOT see the partly displayed "ghost" thumbnail at the right of the first row, but pressing Ctrl+Q four times will still end up selecting the last file instead of the third file.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks, I could reproduce it now!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Should be fixed now in RC4, please test!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1933
Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StickyNomad »

Confirm as fixed here. :)

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9664
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Fixed here too in TC7rc4 :-)
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply