TC7rc3 - Compare By Content, Find in Edit mode and focus

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

TC7rc3 - Compare By Content, Find in Edit mode and focus

Post by *white »

  • Select two (big) files with differences at the beginning and at the end of the files and open the Compare contents dialog (menu Files/Compare By Content).
  • Press the Tab key to go to the right file.
  • Press F6 to go into Edit mode in order to edit the right file.
  • Press F7 and search for some text which is located somewhere at the end of the file.
  • Focus has changed to the left file, so press Tab to get to the right file again in order to edit the found text.
  • Try to edit the found text.
  • Bummer...
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39929
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Indeed the edited line isn't currently scrolled into view vertically. I will add that.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white »

ghisler(Author) wrote:Indeed the edited line isn't currently scrolled into view vertically. I will add that.
That's not quite what I meant. The Find function always places focus on the left panel and moves the cursor of the left panel. This makes no sense when editing the file in the right panel. In that case the Find function should not move the focus to the other panel and should move the cursor of the active panel.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39929
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Ah, I see what you mean. I have found the following solution now:
1. Place the cursor behind the search result in both panels if the word is found in both, and keep the active panel the same.
2. If the word is found only in one panel, put the cursor behind it and make it the active panel.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39929
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Should be fixed now in RC4, please test!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white »

Seems to work as designed.
Post Reply