Icons size problem with 2 screens and different DPI

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Icons size problem with 2 screens and different DPI

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-23, 13:10 UTC

Windows 10 Fall Creator Update with 2 screens :
1. 3840x2160 (4K) with 200% zoom
2. 1920x1200 with 100% zoom

If TC starts in either screen everything is OK. If I move the window from screen 1 to screen two, icons of files and folders are to large. If I move the windows from screen 2 to screen 1, icons are too small.

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-23, 13:12 UTC

Screen capture will come tomorrow, the forum doesn't want me to post them now.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38144
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-24, 09:25 UTC

TC tries to automatically scale the file list icons when you move the window between the two screens. Howver, you can set the size manually for each DPI!
1. Move TC to one screen
2. Choose Configuration - Options - Icons
3. Set the icon size for file lists as you need
4. Move TC to the other screen
5. Set the icon size for file lists as you need

This is only for file list icons. The toolbar icons are always scaled automatically.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-24, 09:45 UTC

The problem here is that the icons size change when the TC window move from one screen to another :
- when TC starts icon size is normal
- when I move the TC window to another screen icon size is either too small or too large

So the scaling algorithm of file list icons has problem in my case. The toolbar icons are OK.

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-24, 12:52 UTC

Here are the screenshots.

Screen 1: 3840x2160 (4K) with 200% zoom
Screen 2: 1920x1200 with 100% zoom

Screen 1:
Image: http://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2017/10/23/171023032107107736.png

Screen 2:
Image: http://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2017/10/23/171023032106832212.png


If I move the window from screen 1 to screen 2:
Image: http://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2017/10/23/171023032106744499.png

If I move the window from screen 2 to screen 1:
Image: http://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2017/10/23/171023032107385480.png


So on screen 1 icons are too small and on screen 2 they are too large.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3438
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2017-10-24, 13:51 UTC

Crao wrote:The problem here is that the icons size change when the TC window move from one screen to another :
- when TC starts icon size is normal
- when I move the TC window to another screen icon size is either too small or too large

So the scaling algorithm of file list icons has problem in my case. The toolbar icons are OK.
Did you follow Christians advice to store the settings for the 2 monitors ?
Windows 10 Home x64 November 2019 Update, Version 1909 (OS Build 18363.476)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.50ß5 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.956 (x64)

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-24, 14:39 UTC

No I didn't because obliviously the default behavior is wrong. TC 9.0 behavior was better.

Every graphic element should scale according to the DPI's screen when the TC move from one screen to the other, but the file list icons did not scale well. It seems to use the DPI from the wrong screen.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38144
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-24, 20:02 UTC

@Crao: There is indeed a bug in scaling in TC 64-bit, please try a private beta which I have sent to your forum e-mail address (provider "free").
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-25, 07:30 UTC

It works now, thank you :D

There is another tiny bug : the TC window size. If I move from the window from screen 1 to screen 2, the window size stay the same. But if I move the window from screen 2 to screen 1 the window size shrink a lot.

Size on screen 2:
Image: http://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2017/10/25/171025095509873184.png

Size after moving the window to screen 1:
Image: http://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2017/10/25/171025095509990328.png

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38144
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-25, 07:45 UTC

Thanks for confirming the fix!

I do not have the screen size problem - The window us scaled here with the DPI. For example, when going from screen with 100% scaling to screen with 200%, it should double in size, and vice versa. But it should always be limited to the target screen size. And if you save the position on one of the screens, and then move TC from another screen to it, TC will return to that stored size.

Can you give me more details of the resize problem? Could it be that the window size on the larger screen is limited to the size (in pixels) of the smaller screen?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-25, 09:47 UTC

Ok you are right, it works as you describe, but not the way I expected :wink:

I thought that the window should keep it size when moving from one screen to the other because almost every program works like that. It's not an issue for me because I always maximize the window.

Thank you for TC, I use it for almost 25 years :D

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38144
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-26, 09:39 UTC

I thought that the window should keep it size when moving from one screen to the other because almost every program works like that.
I cannot confirm this. Most programs are scaled to the new screen resolution. Otherwise dragging a window from a full HD to a 4K screen would make the window half as big to the eye as it was on the HD screen.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-26, 09:54 UTC

Yes there are scaled according to the zoom factor attached to each monitor, but TC seems to scale not according to the current size but to the size written in wincmd.ini. So each time I move the TC window from one monitor to the other, the window size change, regardless of what it was in the previous monitor (but according to what is in wincmd.ini).

So if I scale the window to be tiny, save the position ("Enregistrer la position"), then enlarge the window and move it to the other screen, the window will be tiny again. I thought the windows size in wincmd.ini was only used at statup, but it is also used when moving the window between screens, and other applications don't do that, they just scale the window according to the zoom factor of the monitor.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38144
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-26, 19:59 UTC

Ah, yes, TC scales to the size it was saved when you move it to the screen on which it was saved!

Why? Imagine that you have a HUGE screen and a small screen. You save TC on the huge screen with a big size. Now you move it to the small screen. TC gets resized to it, which is much smaller. Now you move TC back - it would be made bigger again, but since its size was limited by the small screen, it becomes not as big as it was.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Crao
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-06, 13:36 UTC
Location: Bègles, France

Post by *Crao » 2017-10-27, 07:16 UTC

Ok it makes sense. Thank you for your time !

Post Reply