History.txt - typos

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

History.txt - typos

Post by *MarcinW » 2018-05-25, 08:48 UTC

fources -> forces

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8067
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-25, 16:30 UTC

13.04.18 Fixed: Copying to t:\ fails if it's substed drive for dirs with write access for which SetCurrentDirectory didn't work...
Shouldn't it be:
13.04.18 Fixed: Copying to t:\ fails if it's substituted drive for dirs with write access for which SetCurrentDirectory didn't work...
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *MarcinW » 2018-05-25, 16:57 UTC

I suppose that "substed drive" is a drive created by using a command subst :)

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8067
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-25, 18:21 UTC

2MarcinW
Then I suggest:
13.04.18 Fixed: Copying to t:\ fails if it is a drive made with the subst command for dirs with write access for which SetCurrentDirectory didn't work...
or:
13.04.18 Fixed: Copying to t:\ fails if it's subst'ed drive for dirs with write access for which SetCurrentDirectory didn't work...

On MSDN Microsoft writes is as this: SUBSTed

Subst'ed or SUBSTed indicates a constructed word - substed doesn't - and substed is not an ordinary English word.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11043
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2018-05-25, 19:51 UTC

petermad,
substed is not an ordinary English word
Neither are dir nor subdir. I don't think we really need to change that - everyone concerned knows what it means.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8067
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-25, 20:13 UTC

Neither are dir nor subdir.
You got a point - on the other hand "dir" and "subdir" are used a lot of places in TC's dialogs, substed is not. So TC users are familiar with dir and subdir, but not necessarily with subst and substed. But then again, you can argue that people (geeks ;-) ) who read history.txt files most likely will understand what substed means.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-28, 14:30 UTC

Yes, I mean stustituted with the subst command, but this sounds a bit silly, so I just used substed...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *MarcinW » 2018-05-30, 18:13 UTC

"fources" fixed.

User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *MarcinW » 2018-05-30, 18:15 UTC

Vistit Totalcmd's Web site -> Visit Totalcmd's Web Site

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11043
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2018-05-30, 19:53 UTC

Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *MarcinW » 2018-05-30, 20:22 UTC

So we have two problems, instead of one:

1) English TC menu "&Visit Totalcmd's Web Site" should be changed to "&Visit Totalcmd's Website"

2) In History.txt, "Vistit Totalcmd's Web site" should be changed to "Visit Totalcmd's Website"

Regards

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-31, 09:29 UTC

Hmm, seems like both are used, but Website is used about 14 times more, accoring to Googlebattle.com. I will change it.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8067
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-06-07, 20:15 UTC

I can confirm that "Web site" is changed to "Website" in history text AND in the English menu (both internal and .mnu file)
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *MarcinW » 2018-06-09, 11:00 UTC

"Website":
- fixed History.txt
- fixed Wcmd_eng.mnu in TC
- not fixed Wcmd_eng.mnu in Difres tool

Regards

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-11, 14:07 UTC

I didn't update the difres tool because it's irrelevant when translating.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply