monitor(x,y,w,h,dpi)=x,y,w,h is ignored in [AllResolutions]

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8066
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

monitor(x,y,w,h,dpi)=x,y,w,h is ignored in [AllResolutions]

Post by *petermad » 2018-06-17, 03:39 UTC

When saving the window size and position separately for two monitors (left monitor bigger than the right) and at the same time using the ResolutionSpecific=0 setting, then there is saved two monitor(x,y,w,h,dp)= settings in the [AllResolutions] sections - but the values are not used.

Example 1:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
ResolutionSpecific=0

[AllResolutions]
x=297
y=88
dx=1263
dy=849
monitor(0,0,1920,1080;96)=297,88,1263,849
monitor(1920,0,1280,1024;96)=2038,110,1082,826
When I press Win+Shift+Cursor left/right the first time TC is moved to the right screen but with the same width and heigth as on the left screen and with the same vertical position. The window does not get resized to the expected 1082x826 pixels.

When I press Win+Shift+Cursor left/right the second time TC is moved back to the first screen and is moved a bit to the right.

Example 2

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
ResolutionSpecific=0

[AllResolutions]
x=279
y=92
dx=1280
dy=865
monitor(0,0,1920,1080;96)=279,92,1280,865
monitor(1920,0,1280,1024;96)=1977,114,1148,800
When I press Win+Shift+Cursor left/right the first time TC is moved to the right screen but with the same heigth and the width set to width of the screen.

When I press Win+Shift+Cursor left/right the second time TC is moved back to the first screen but is positioned at the left edge of the screen an not at position 297.

Example 3

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
ResolutionSpecific=0

[AllResolutions]
x=231
y=88
dx=1329
dy=849
monitor(0,0,1920,1080;96)=231,88,1329,849
monitor(1920,0,1280,1024;96)=2038,110,1082,826
When I press Win+Shift+Cursor left/right the first time TC is moved to the right screen but with much smaller width than 1082

When I press Win+Shift+Cursor left/right the second time TC is moved back to the first screen but still with a very narrow window.

Example 4

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
ResolutionSpecific=1

[1920x1080 (8x16)]
maximized=0
x=279
y=92
dx=1280
dy=865
Divider=500
DividerQuickView=500
DividerComments=500
Tabstops=274,278,338,210,731,139
monitor(0,0,1920,1080;96)=279,92,1280,865
monitor(1920,0,1280,1024;96)=1977,114,1148,800
With this setting (ResolutionSpecific=1) TC is sized and positioned as expected when pressing Win+Shift+Cursor left/right.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-17, 07:19 UTC

Currently the monitor(*) entries are ignored when using ResolutionSpecific=0. Why? This mode is meant for situations where the screen resolution changes constantly in an unpredictable way, e.g. when using a virtual machine where resizing the virtual machine automatically resizes the resolution of the guest operating system. In this case, the monitor(*) entries within [AllResolutions] wouldn't help either, because they contain specific screen sizes.

Do you see a usage case for this? I could enable it easily, but why?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8066
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-06-17, 16:54 UTC

I use the ResolutionSpecific=0 setting in order to be able to copy and use the same wincmd.ini on many computers. This way I make a "default" setting that fits most screens, so I don't have to adjust ALL the TC windows from scracth.

On the other hand I have only one computer with two screens, and it is not smart for me to have to give up the use of ResolutionSpecific=0, to make Win+Shift+Cursor left/right work on just that PC.

And since TC is already saving the window metrics in the [AllResolutions] section, I don't se any reason not to use it, in stead of the more or less random behaviour right now. And I can't se any harm in using the settings.
Last edited by petermad on 2018-06-18, 10:04 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-18, 09:24 UTC

OK, that's a valid reason - I will change it.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36511
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-20, 18:29 UTC

This should work now in RC2, please try it!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8066
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-06-20, 20:49 UTC

Confirmed fixed in TC 9.20rc2 :-)
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply