Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Yes, you are right, the title should change - currently it only changes when you switch away from the tab.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *StatusQuo »

Basically I like the current behaviour:
This way you can change the path without having to re-enter the tab name - just unlock and re-lock with the new path.

How I use this:
Locked Tabs (project-oriented) with long dir names get a shorter name, applied path changes are usually one directory level up or down.
Currently these changes only require pressing a hotkey (e.g. Ctrl+L) twice and it's done.

Not perfect though:
To update tab title after unlocking you have to change the dir and go back -
switching to another tab and back does not trigger an update.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *StatusQuo »

HISTORY.TXT Beta 11 wrote: 29.12.19 Fixed: Unlock or permanently lock tab which was set to "locked with directory changes allowed" in a different directory -> change tab header to that new directory name (32/64)
Fortunately my use case (above) still works with Beta 11 (32/64bit, Win7 x64).
So I'm not sure what was changed here - maybe I misunderstood the problem?
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

So I'm not sure what was changed here - maybe I misunderstood the problem?
1. Right click on a tab and set it to "Locked but directory changes allowed"
2. Go to a different directory on that tab - the title stays the same
3. Right click on the tab and unlock it by clicking again on "Locked but directory changes allowed"

-> the title of the tab must be changed to the name of the new directory where we are now.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *StatusQuo »

I see, thanks (I didn't use the mouse).

Using the mouse I can confirm the fix in beta 11 (and the old behaviour before) -
but I really don't like it (reduced functionality):

Now I miss a way to change the saved base directory without having to adjust the tab title again and again. That was no problem in previous versions.

I guess a new internal command in a future version would help compensating that (something like cm_UpdateCurrentTabPath) -
or is there already a way to do this?

Simple example:
Lock a tab in D:\somepath\INI and rename it from "D:INI" to "D:INI_950".
Unlock it and the manual name is immediately gone/reset.

Frequently used case:
3 locked tabs on servers, all named "\share",
renamed them (based on their IP) to "\share_121" "\share_122" "\share_123".
The saved positions regularly need to be updated to current projects on the servers.
Repeatedly having to enter "121", "122", "123" would be annoying and prone to errors.
(I hope, my workaround will keep working a while...)


P.S.: Previous behaviour fitted the general behaviour of "Locked but directory changes allowed":
changing directories while keeping tab header unchanged.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks for your concerns. There is an easy solution: Just don't change the title if it differs from the default for the locked tab. This way if the user changed the name from e.g. "INI" to "INI_950", the tab title will remain unchanged when you unlock it.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *StatusQuo »

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2020-01-06, 09:18 UTC
if the user changed the name from e.g. "INI" to "INI_950", the tab title will remain unchanged when you unlock it.
Thanks, but I think we're talking about different things:
it's mostly the focus inside of a project that moves to another point, not renamed folders.

BTW, another nice effect of the previous version:
Tab unlocking could be completely undone (by simply re-locking) - without losing the tab's header name.
(Sorry, I may get a little offtopic, sliding from bug checking to feature suggestion.)

Just to explain:
Taking TC as an example project, having a directory structure like this opened in tabs:
C:\totalcmd950b11\INI
C:\totalcmd922a\INI
C:\totalcmd921a\INI
C:\totalcmd920\INI
C:\totalcmd912\INI
results in tabs named like this:
INI | INI | INI | INI | INI
- so to tell them apart I rename them like
test_950 | test_922a | test_921a | test_920 | test_912
When changing focus inside the project I update the base dir (let's say simply from subdir INI to .\INI\backup) -
TC now resets the names to
backup | backup | backup | backup | backup
and it's my turn again giving them useful names (like they were before TC updated them).
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Tab unlocking could be completely undone (by simply re-locking) - without losing the tab's header name.
With my proposed change this will still be possible.
Example 1:
c:\project1 is locked with title "project1"
user goes to c:\project2
user unlocks tab - since the title is the same as the locked directory, it will be changed to project2

Example 2 (new in upcoming beta):
c:\Bank of Switzerland is locked with title "project1"
user goes to c:\Bank of Germany
user unlocks tab - since the title "project1" is different from the locked directory, the title will be kept as "project 1", so the user can re-lock it with this name.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Unlocked tab does not refresh tab's path

Post by *StatusQuo »

Great solution, looks like the best of both worlds. Thanks a lot for rescueing this re-lock feature.

I confirm the fix in TC 9.50b12 (when unlocking via mouse right-click).
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

Post Reply