[TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

[TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *StatusQuo »

In Configuration > Options (with cursor/focus in left panel):
  • pressing {space} key 3 times should select line " Auto switch mode"
  • typing {space}{space}LO should select line " Log file"
Still works as expected in 64 bit version of TC 9.50b10,
does not work any more in 32 bit version.

32bit TC behaves like the fixed TC9.50b8 Saved file searches (Alt+F7): no quick selection by typing anymore did.
Seems to be OS-independent.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I will check it, thanks.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *StatusQuo »

HISTORY.TXT wrote: 05.01.20 Fixed: Configuration dialog: Quick search in left list of categories no longer worked as in older versions (32)
I confirm the fix in beta 12, thanks.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1548
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *DrShark »

It seems above fix doesn't work in TC 9.50a RC1.

TC 9.22a behavior:
press 'O' -> "Operation" category will be selected, in 2 seconds or so the selection will blink once, then it is possible to press other letters (or spaces and letters) to change category.

TC 9.50a behavior:
press 'O' -> "Operation" category will be selected, the selection won't blink, so trying to change other letters (or spaces and letters) won't work. Workaround: change category with down or up arrow, then one more time it'll be possible to change category with letters (or spaces and letters).

And I must say that the way of changing categories with keyboard even in TC 9.22a is unintuitive.
Desired behavior: after opening "Configuration" dialog, pressing 'p' is expected to switch to "Plugins" category, pressing 'p' again should switch to "Packer" category, and so on.
Current behavior of 9.22a: pressing 'p' switches to "Packer" category, then goes this 2 seconds pause, and now following 'p' won't change category, so if user from here wants to switch to "Plugins" user have to press Space+P twice (first one switches to "Icons" category)!
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *StatusQuo »

DrShark wrote:
2020-02-17, 17:40 UTC
It seems above fix doesn't work in TC 9.50a RC1.
TC 9.50a behavior:
press 'O' -> "Operation" category will be selected, the selection won't blink, so trying to change other letters (or spaces and letters) won't work.
Not confirmed: Press "O" => "Operation" is selected, after 2 seconds there is a short blink, press "P" => "Packer" section is selected.
OK, too: Fast typing " col" selects " Color", typing " cop" selects " Copy/Delete".
(Tested 32/64bit TC 9.22a/9.50a RC1, Win7 x64 Classic theme).
press Space+P twice (first one switches to "Icons" category)!
Yes (you seem to forget the leading spaces in your test): " Icons" is the first category name starting with a space, then the first "P" is ignored (because not fitting anything), after adding the second space + "P" the quick search string is " P" => selecting " Plugins".
pressing 'p' is expected to switch to "Plugins" category, pressing 'p' again should switch to "Packer" category
This would probably need the use of another control (like a real tree), so the leading spaces are not needed anymore. Or a flat list with all categories left-aligned without indents.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 786
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *Usher »

The list is too small to convert it into the tree. It's like icons on the desktop rather than Windows Registry. IMHO, it's faster to navigate only with letters and spaces than mix letters and cursor keys.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *StatusQuo »

2Usher
Agree. The spaces make keyboard navigation a bit less intuitive, but it looks better. For me the current layout is OK.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1548
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *DrShark »

StatusQuo wrote:
2020-02-17, 19:58 UTC
Not confirmed: Press "O" => "Operation" is selected, after 2 seconds there is a short blink, press "P" => "Packer" section is selected.
For me the problem is reproduced even with clean ini (TC 9.50a RC1, Vista 32-bit, classic theme).
StatusQuo wrote:
2020-02-17, 19:58 UTC
OK, too: Fast typing " col" selects " Color", typing " cop" selects " Copy/Delete".
(Tested 32/64bit TC 9.22a/9.50a RC1, Win7 x64 Classic theme).
Fast typing "<space><space><letters>" works form me in TC 9.50a RC1, but only if it's a first time since opening of Configuration dialog. If some category is already selected with keyboard (with letter or space(es)+letter(s)), there is no blink after 2 seconds here, and next space(es)+letter(s) won't work.

BTW, in TC 9.50a RC1 switching from Configuration window and returning to it, makes switching categories with letters or space(es)+letter(s) working again.

StatusQuo wrote:
2020-02-17, 19:58 UTC
press Space+P twice (first one switches to "Icons" category)!
Yes (you seem to forget the leading spaces in your test): " Icons" is the first category name starting with a space, then the first "P" is ignored (because not fitting anything), after adding the second space + "P" the quick search string is " P" => selecting " Plugins".
I didn't forget, but again, here the logic is not that intuitive too: if I'm typing space+letter fast, I expect it to be treated as a single word, so " p" should select a category starting with that, like " Plugins". Instead, actually the first time I press space+something, TC is ignoring everything after space and just switches selection to the first line which starts with space...
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *StatusQuo »

2DrShark
After testing on some virtual machines, I now can reproduce it on all machines, including the host. :( (TC all versions from 7.50 beta12 to current, also clean INI, only 32bit TC).
It looks like Quicksearch lost its time-out feature somehow.
Closing all VirtualBox related stuff didn't help, even after rebooting the problem still persists.
It's the same behavior since TC 9.50 beta12, while TC 9.22a still works as expected.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 786
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *Usher »

DrShark wrote:
2020-02-17, 21:07 UTC
if I'm typing space+letter fast, I expect it to be treated as a single word, so " p" should select a category starting with that, like " Plugins". Instead, actually the first time I press space+something, TC is ignoring everything after space and just switches selection to the first line which starts with space...
Train your logic on desktop icons (with spaces inside names). When I mistype a character, I can hear an error sound and Explorer stops on the last character typed properly. Now imagine that the last good character is space. Now imagine that the last good character may be the first one.

Will you be satisfied if TC makes error sound on fast typing as Explorer does?
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I found the problem: In the listbox control, I was handling WM_TIMER messages for delayed redrawing of the scrollbars. However, WM_TIMER was apparently also used by the listbox itself for this quick search timeout. So adding a call to the inherited function seems to fix it.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 786
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *Usher »

2ghisler(Author)
And what about error sound for no match found with fast typing?
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This seems to be an Explorer-specific feature. I'm not getting any beeps in TC 9.22a either.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 786
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *Usher »

Well, It's a suggestion to add such a feature.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: [TC 9.50b10 32bit] Config-dialog missing quick-selection (keyboard)

Post by *StatusQuo »

18.02.20 Fixed: Quick search in a listbox (e.g. main settings): no more timeout for typed search string (32)
Fix confirmed, it's working nicely again here, thanks.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!

Post Reply