Back button navigation bug

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
uniqueden
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-01-07, 14:02 UTC

Back button navigation bug

Post by *uniqueden »

Hello,

I have spotted this bug since the first beta, currently on beta11 and still experiencing the same issue:

When you navigate through folders, if you:
1. Open Folder A
2. Click on the Go Back button to return to the parent folder
3. Open Folder B
4. Click on the Go Back button

It will end up in Folder A instead of the parent folder.

I have recorded a very short video to demonstrate this bug, please check out the below link:
https://1drv.ms/v/s!AlBY0UdL1LJch_4D3rfm6vGBwG2kdA?e=kTn6Tz

mp
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 2010-10-21, 13:55 UTC

Re: Back button navigation bug

Post by *mp »

I can confirm this behavior, but I am not sure if this is really a bug.
The back functionality goes back to the last selected folder. And in this case the last folder you opened was really the folder A and not the folder where you got with the "Back" function...

uniqueden
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-01-07, 14:02 UTC

Re: Back button navigation bug

Post by *uniqueden »

If this is really by design then it's at least unintuitive? If you perform the same action with windows explorer, you can always navigate back to the previous path before the current one - in this case the parent folder not Folder A...

It feels that TC only keeps track or "new" paths in the folder history and the Go Back function only jumps between the adjacent records, hence misses the recent path in the folder history.

In the original demo, the trace was:

Folder C (the parent folder) -> Folder A -> (Go Back) -> Folder C -> Folder B

When I click on Go Back, instead of adding another record in the trace: Folder C -> Folder A -> Folder C, it just adds Folder B after Folder A, the trace becomes: Folder C -> Folder A -> Folder B, which looks like a bug rather than design decision to me...

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9386
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Back button navigation bug

Post by *petermad »

History.txt:
28.10.19 Added: New option in wincmd.ini [Configuration] HistoryCut=1 Cuts history after current entry when in the middle of the history and the
user goes to a different directory (32/64)
So just put HistoryCut=1 in the [Configuration] section of your wincmd.ini file and restart TC - then it should be fixed.

Discussed here: viewtopic.php?p=361467#p361467
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

uniqueden
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-01-07, 14:02 UTC

Re: Back button navigation bug

Post by *uniqueden »

petermad wrote:
2020-01-07, 16:57 UTC
So just put HistoryCut=1 in the [Configuration] section of your wincmd.ini file and restart TC - then it should be fixed.

Discussed here: viewtopic.php?p=361467#p361467
Thanks! This solved the issue for me. :lol:

Post Reply