Strange Search and Replace diacritics error

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

yard
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-02-07, 16:32 UTC

Strange Search and Replace diacritics error

Post by *yard » 2018-02-07, 16:48 UTC

Hello,

I am trying use newest TC for diacritics characters in file names search and replacement.

I have this trouble:

1. I have files with diacritic in name - copied from email (possibly was created on IOS system)

When I am trying search and replace for example diacritics ý or á ... etc. then TC make no replacement

2. I was create test file with diacritics characters in name directly in my Windows and in this file TC searching and replacing all diacritics characters good


I cant´t drop here video link I will do tomorrow

This is strange, possible some different encoding cause ?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8965
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-02-07, 16:56 UTC

2yard
When I am trying search and replace for example diacritics ý or á ... etc. then TC make no replacement
How do you try to search and replace? - If I use TC's Multi Rename tool for that task, it works fine for me.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b8 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2013-09-04, 14:07 UTC

Post by *elgonzo » 2018-02-07, 17:29 UTC

Are you sure you have identified the characters properly?
Note that there two similar-looking diacritics/accents: acute and grave.

Acute: á ý
Grave: à ỳ

And then there are some more diacritics, but it would be hard to confuse those with either the acute or grave unless you have vaseline covering your eyes... ;)

(Also worth noting: Cyrillic letters a and y might look exactly like their latin counterparts, but they have different code points in Unicode. And they also have diacritic variants, although not with acute or grave...)
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1

User avatar
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1109
Joined: 2012-02-02, 19:23 UTC

Re: Strange Search and Replace diacritics error

Post by *milo1012 » 2018-02-07, 18:54 UTC

yard wrote:This is strange, possible some different encoding cause ?
I think you're on the right track.
It's probably an Unicode normalization issue, i.e. your filenames are in NFD, while your keyboard input produces NFC and therefore won't match in TC's multi-rename tool.

You could use my NFCname plug-in, either to scan/check if those filenames really are in non-NFC, or to convert them to NFC with TC's multi-rename tool.
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract

yard
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-02-07, 16:32 UTC

Post by *yard » 2018-02-07, 21:00 UTC

petermad wrote:2yard
When I am trying search and replace for example diacritics ý or á ... etc. then TC make no replacement
How do you try to search and replace? - If I use TC's Multi Rename tool for that task, it works fine for me.
CTRL+M

look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ

User avatar
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2013-09-04, 14:07 UTC

Post by *elgonzo » 2018-02-07, 21:16 UTC

yard wrote:look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ
What sort of puzzle game is that???

Neither screencast.com/this/video/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/thisvideo/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/this/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/video/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/cFniDxopaZ does nor screencast.com/t/cFniDxopaZ does work... :?
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1

yard
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-02-07, 16:32 UTC

Post by *yard » 2018-02-07, 21:29 UTC

What sort of puzzle game is that???

For that I am newbie user, I can´t post here, this is rule of this forum, antispam..

yard
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-02-07, 16:32 UTC

Re: Strange Search and Replace diacritics error

Post by *yard » 2018-02-07, 21:32 UTC

milo1012 wrote: You could use my NFCname plug-in, either to scan/check if those filenames really are in non-NFC, or to convert them to NFC with TC's multi-rename tool.
How can I use this tool, I have it installed

User avatar
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2013-09-04, 14:07 UTC

Post by *elgonzo » 2018-02-07, 22:02 UTC

yard wrote:What sort of puzzle game is that???

For that I am newbie user, I can´t post here, this is rule of this forum, antispam..
Don't blame the forum software for your PEBCAK. :roll:
While it is true that the forum software does not allow newbies to post URLs as-is, you can't blame it for making it nigh impossible for other users to build a working URL from your description.

If i were a newbie like you and i needed to post a URL like "http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=49371", i would do something like this:

Code: Select all

ghisler.ch </> board </> viewtopic.php <?> t=49371
Do you see how easy it is to describe a URL without actually writing a "forbidden" real functioning URL?
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8965
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-02-08, 02:03 UTC

2elgonzo
Acute: á ý
I copied á ý here from this webpage and then made a new file "á ý.txt" by pasting á ý to the file name - this file I now renamed using the Search & Replace function of the Multi-Rename Tool..
.
See http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/searchreplace.png

As you can see no ploblem here.

-------------------
look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ
Neither screencast.com/this/video/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/thisvideo/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/this/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/video/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/cFniDxopaZ does nor screencast.com/t/cFniDxopaZ does work
I have the same problem - none of the combinations work - and I cannot imagine many other combinations from the given info (look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ)

http://screencast.com/thisvideo/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/this/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/video/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/t/cFniDxopaZ

http://screencast.com/this.video/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/this.video.cFniDxopaZ
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b8 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

yard
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-02-07, 16:32 UTC

Post by *yard » 2018-02-08, 08:07 UTC

Don't blame the forum software for your PEBCAK. :roll:
Sorry but I was simply try post and still have warning, I haven´t time study whole forum for way howto..

ok .. thanks for info

yard
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-02-07, 16:32 UTC

Post by *yard » 2018-02-08, 08:10 UTC

screencast-o-matic com</>watch</>cFniDxopaZ

yard
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-02-07, 16:32 UTC

Post by *yard » 2018-02-08, 08:12 UTC

I am so sorry
look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ
screencast o matic is correct domain

correct link is above

User avatar
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2013-09-04, 14:07 UTC

Post by *elgonzo » 2018-02-08, 08:29 UTC

Okay. From your video it looks like an issue as pointed out by milo1012.

While i do not know his plug-in, this should be the way how you should use it to solve your issue:
  1. In the Multi-Rename-Tool, underneath the file name text field is a button named "[=?] Plugin". Click it.
  2. A window opens, in which you first select Miro's plugin and then select the property/function of the plug-in that will provide the NFC (pre-composed Unicode) file name. Click OK.
  3. Now you will see that the chosen plug-in function has been added to the file name mask. You probably also need to remove any other tokens such "[N]" from the file name mask.
  4. Finally, proceed with replacing the diacritic characters.
If it doesn't work at first, try different properties/functions offered by Milo's plugin and see what happens... ...or just wait for Milo's reply ;)
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1

yard
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-02-07, 16:32 UTC

Post by *yard » 2018-02-08, 09:09 UTC

elgonzo wrote: [*]A window opens, in which you first select Miro's plugin and then select the property/function of the plug-in that will provide the NFC (pre-composed Unicode) file name. Click OK.
Great, this works:

Image: %3C/%3E%3C/%3Ei%3C.%3Eimgur%3C.%3Ecom%3C/%3EX2iRzsE%3C.%3Epng

Edit by Mod.
//i.imgur.com/X2iRzsE.png



 

Post Reply