Incorrect directory names via ftp

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
dud
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-07-09, 11:49 UTC

Incorrect directory names via ftp

Post by *dud » 2018-07-09, 11:57 UTC

When the directory name consists of two words separated by a space after connecting via FTP, you can see the name of the directory consisting of the last word. Then the directory name is bad and you can not go inside for example to browse files in this folder

On the older version of TC v8.50 it is also the case.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38094
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-09, 20:48 UTC

Which server type? On some servers, TC cannot detect spaces in names, because spaces are also used to separate columns like size, date, time, permissions etc. You can try to solve this by defining a custom server type:
1. Connect
2. Press Alt+Shift+Enter
3. Load one of the predefined types
4. Adjust it until it works with your server
5. If you have problems, post a few lines of the raw listing of your server here, especially lines with spaces in the name
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

dud
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-07-09, 11:49 UTC

Post by *dud » 2018-07-10, 06:45 UTC

This is FTP server from Windows_CE 2013

Predefines types dont work but when i create this one its work perfectly :)

MM DD YY hh mm ddd SSSSSS nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

thx for your help
best regards

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8794
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-07-11, 01:13 UTC

1. Connect
2. Press Alt+Shift+Enter
3. Load one of the predefined types
Notice that the Advanced setting: "Use MLSD for directory listings" has to be disabled for this to work.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38094
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-11, 06:50 UTC

MLSD doesn't cause this problem because the format is specified very strictly, so TC doesn't have any problems with reading names from MLSD listing.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8794
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-07-11, 11:19 UTC

MLSD doesn't cause this problem
That is not what I meant - I meant that MLSD has to be disabled if you want to be able to open the "Define servertype" dialog:

from the Help:
Note: When the MLSD command is used instead of LIST, this dialog box will NOT be shown...
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38094
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-12, 10:07 UTC

Yes, but you don't even encounter the problem with MLSD, so you don't need to disable it.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply