TC crashes when trying to display the context menu

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
dimitryos
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-29, 13:25 UTC

TC crashes when trying to display the context menu

Post by *dimitryos »

Hi! I constantly get TC crashing when trying to display the context menu of a folder or a file by long pressing of the right mouse button or pressing the appropriate keyboard button (between Winkey and Right-Ctrl).
I use Windows 7 and Total Commander 9.2 (both 64-bit)
Image: https://yadi.sk/i/qykZ1EcK3Zggdb

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11685
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: TC crashes when trying to display the context menu

Post by *Hacker »

Hi dimitryos,
Please search for "faulty shell extension".

HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9600
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: TC crashes when trying to display the context menu

Post by *petermad »

License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

dimitryos
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-29, 13:25 UTC

Re: TC crashes when trying to display the context menu

Post by *dimitryos »

Thank you very much for your advices! This tool ShellExView helped me a lot to solve my problem

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7049
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: TC crashes when trying to display the context menu

Post by *Dalai »

And which shell extension was the culprit?

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

dimitryos
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-29, 13:25 UTC

Re: TC crashes when trying to display the context menu

Post by *dimitryos »

I haven't cleared yet. I've just disabled all non Windows extensions. Later I hope to clear the case by enabling them one by one. I would let you know.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7049
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: TC crashes when trying to display the context menu

Post by *Dalai »

OK, sorry, I thought you've already determined the faulty one.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

Post Reply