Folder tab remain active

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
TimoJ
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2016-09-03, 14:13 UTC

Folder tab remain active

Post by *TimoJ » 2018-08-12, 10:50 UTC

Is this a bug or a feature: I have added few fixed folder tabs for drives and paths (all locked but allow dir change).
But sometimes I also use drive combobox to select drives. But when I select a drive via the combobox, the last used tab still remains active.
Is it possible to make the tab inactive if the user selects a different drive via the drive combobox?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8848
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Folder tab remain active

Post by *petermad » 2018-08-12, 14:47 UTC

Hold down the Shift key when you click on the drive in the combobox (or in the drive bar, if enabled) - then the drive will be opened in a new tab.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

TimoJ
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2016-09-03, 14:13 UTC

Re: Folder tab remain active

Post by *TimoJ » 2018-08-12, 15:09 UTC

Yes, but that doesn't fix the original problem. Of course I could disable the drive combobox, but looks like that also removes disk free/total space info. And I also sometimes like to use alt-F1/F2 and that also leaves last tab visible active.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8848
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Folder tab remain active

Post by *petermad » 2018-08-12, 15:31 UTC

Of course I could disable the drive combobox
I haven't said anything about that - read my answer again.

All I am saying is that in stead of just clicking a drive in the drive combobox you hold down Shift while you click the drive - have you tried that?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

TimoJ
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2016-09-03, 14:13 UTC

Re: Folder tab remain active

Post by *TimoJ » 2018-08-15, 13:56 UTC

So I guess this is a "feature" and not a bug?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38160
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Folder tab remain active

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-08-15, 15:51 UTC

Yes, changing directories and drives usually happens within the same tab, just like entering a new address in a web browser doesn't open a new tab.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

TimoJ
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2016-09-03, 14:13 UTC

Re: Folder tab remain active

Post by *TimoJ » 2018-08-16, 11:54 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2018-08-15, 15:51 UTC
Yes, changing directories and drives usually happens within the same tab, just like entering a new address in a web browser doesn't open a new tab.
I don't want a new tab. I just want selected tab to become inactive if I select different drive via alt-f1/f2 or with mouse via the drive combobox. And maybe also become inactive if that pane's current path is not the same that is set to the active tab's setting.

Currently on the left side pane I have tabs D: K: O: and C:. Now, if for example D-tab is active and I switch to C-drive via alt-f1, I get C-drive visible and C-drive in the combobox but tab still shows D as active making you, for a moment, think that you are still in D-drive.

Or maybe I'm just using it in a wrong way... :)

siealex
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 228
Joined: 2009-03-22, 16:36 UTC

Re: Folder tab remain active

Post by *siealex » 2018-08-16, 12:17 UTC

If you allow changing directories in a locked tab, you also automatically allow changing disks in the same tab.
We are not so S.M.A.R.T. as we imagine...

TimoJ
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2016-09-03, 14:13 UTC

Re: Folder tab remain active

Post by *TimoJ » 2018-08-16, 18:29 UTC

siealex wrote:
2018-08-16, 12:17 UTC
If you allow changing directories in a locked tab, you also automatically allow changing disks in the same tab.
Making my default tabs fully locked seems to make some sense to all this. Now extra tab/tabs that opens if i use alt-f1 etc. shows and follows the actual panel path. Problem is that now, with certain usage patterns, I end up with lots of extra tabs that cause my default tabs to scroll off screen.

Post Reply