Total commander doesn't work well on case-sensitive filesys

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
lchiocca
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2004-02-29, 23:10 UTC

Total commander doesn't work well on case-sensitive filesys

Post by *lchiocca » 2012-02-08, 13:39 UTC

I just ran into an issue when I moved total commander to my cloud storage drive (I'm using wuala). When using the context menu's x64 i'm getting "Program not found tcmdx64.exe" error. On case-INsensitive file systems this wouldn't be an issue, but since wuala's storage is case dependant, it wouldn't work (file is called TCMDX64.EXE and not tcmdx64.exe).

This would probably also be the case if you change windows file system behaviour to be case sensitive (http://www.chilkatsoft.com/p/p_454.asp).

Would propose to reference to file in upper case.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38145
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-02-09, 15:28 UTC

Try renaming TCMDX64.EXE to tcmdx64.exe. While TC can access case-sensitive file systems, it doesn't work well when installed on one.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

lchiocca
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2004-02-29, 23:10 UTC

Post by *lchiocca » 2012-02-10, 08:37 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Try renaming TCMDX64.EXE to tcmdx64.exe. While TC can access case-sensitive file systems, it doesn't work well when installed on one.
That's what I have done and the context menu is working. There are some other issues like the list of commands that can be assigned to keyboard shortcuts are missings (the list is empty - totalcmd.inc). Same also applies to default.bar, tcmadmin.exe, totalcmd.inc and probably most of the DLLs.

Would it be possible to change the file references to uppercase in the build script, so that when a new version comes out, I don't have to rename them all over again? I know this sounds a bit egoistic, since there aren't a lot of people running TC on a case sensitive file system, but it would be still be nice :)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38145
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-02-10, 11:32 UTC

I'm sorry, I cannot officially support it. Even on Linux, the Wine emulator seems to simulate case-insensitive directories.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

lchiocca
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2004-02-29, 23:10 UTC

Post by *lchiocca » 2012-02-10, 11:44 UTC

No worries. Was worth a try.

Post Reply