Copy NTFS Permissions is missing.

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Berthold
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-04-27, 15:25 UTC

Copy NTFS Permissions is missing.

Post by *Berthold » 2012-04-27, 15:31 UTC

Hello,

since the version of TC 7.57a the "Copy NTFS Permissions" is missing.
Also in the TC 8.0 Beta 25 32bit this is not working. 64 bit is working properly.

Is this known?

Berthold

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Copy NTFS Permissions is missing.

Post by *white » 2012-04-27, 16:10 UTC

Berthold wrote:since the version of TC 7.57a the "Copy NTFS Permissions" is missing.
Not confirmed. It's still there.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38017
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-04-30, 13:46 UTC

2Berthold
Could you give me more details please?
- what are you trying to copy?
- are source+target drive really NTFS?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Berthold
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-04-27, 15:25 UTC

Post by *Berthold » 2012-04-30, 15:38 UTC

Hello again,

I did some further test.
At first source and target are really NTFS and it is working fine with version 7.56.a. I copy single files and also folders with subfolders. I tried different sources and targets, local and network drives on Windows 2008 and Netapp filer.
I tested it @work with XP and Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit.
XP:
1.) Installation of 7.56a. Possible to copy NTFS Permissons.
2.) Update to 7.57a. Missing the possibility to copy NTFS Permission.
3.) Downgrade to 7.56a, everything is fine.
4.) Try to startup with a fresh wincmd.ini on 7.57a no sucess.
Win7:
1.) Installation of 7.56a. Possible to copy NTFS Permissons.
2.) Update to 7.57a. Missing the possibility to copy NTFS Permission.
3.) Downgrade to 7.56a, everything is fine.
4.) Try to startup with a fresh wincmd.ini on 7.57a no sucess.
5.) Installation of 8.00B25 32bit. Missing the possibility to copy NTFS Permission.
6.) Installation of 8.00B25 64bit. Everything is fine.

I am pretty sure that this was working with Version 7.57a because I often use this functionality. Perhaps a Windows Update is the reason of this failure? I will do some further test. Also test with RC1.

Berthold
#6889 Personal licence
#55960 50 User license

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8749
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2012-04-30, 15:46 UTC

Missing the possibility to copy NTFS Permission.
Do you mean that the option is not present in the Copy dialog, or that you cannot choose it with the tick-box, or that you can in fact choose it, but it doesn't work?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Berthold
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-04-27, 15:25 UTC

Post by *Berthold » 2012-04-30, 16:06 UTC

Sorry, the dialog is not shown.
#6889 Personal licence
#55960 50 User license

Berthold
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-04-27, 15:25 UTC

Post by *Berthold » 2012-04-30, 17:29 UTC

I found the reason. The problem occurs only if a Novell Client is installed. I removed the Novell Client and then the option is present in the Copy dialog. Seems that due to the Novell Client the newer 32bit versions of TC doesn´t recognize local disks and cifs shares as NTFS drives but as Netware drives. By the way we are nearly finished to migrate from Netware to Windows and Netapp Filer, so it is not so important for us to fix. Perhaps for others.

I am using TC now since Version 2.11 I think and just wan´t to say thank you to Christian for his great job.

Thanks
Berthold
#6889 Personal licence
#55960 50 User license

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8749
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2012-05-01, 14:53 UTC

Seems that due to the Novell Client the newer 32bit versions of TC doesn´t recognize local disks and cifs shares as NTFS drives but as Netware drives.
I doubt that this is the reason, because when I copy files between to FAT drives, I still see the "Copy NTFS permissions ..." option in the Copy dialog (I can even enable it! Not that it would have any effect, I guess.)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Berthold
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-04-27, 15:25 UTC

Post by *Berthold » 2012-05-02, 06:24 UTC

But fact is I removed the Novell Client and the dialog appears again.
#6889 Personal licence
#55960 50 User license

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8749
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2012-05-02, 10:30 UTC

But fact is I removed the Novell Client and the dialog appears again.
Sure, what I mean is that I don't think it is because TC checks for NTFS partion per se - then the dialog wouldn't be present for FAT drives.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
HolgerK
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5141
Joined: 2006-01-26, 22:15 UTC
Location: Europe, Aachen

Post by *HolgerK » 2012-05-02, 18:48 UTC

I don't think it is because TC checks for NTFS partion per se
Agree.
The option to copy NTFS permissions is also missing if you start TC in compatibility mode for Win95/98/Me (which of course is not possible for the x64 Version).

Two possible reasons:

1. The Novell client changes something inside the environment of the 32Bit TC so that TC gets the impression "Hey, I'm running on older Windos which does not support NTFS".

2. TC 7.57a runs in compatibility mode while TC 7.56a not.

Regards
Holger
Make our planet great again

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38017
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-05-03, 14:33 UTC

I can confirm the problem with the Netware client, thanks! I will fix it in the next RC.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply