How to show the TC Media Player Queue?

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

How to show the TC Media Player Queue?

Post by *JohnFredC » 2014-04-25, 14:24 UTC

Probably something simple I am missing but...

I can send files to the TC Media player queue, but after returning to the TC file panels, how does the user then display the TC Media Player (showing the queue and play/pause, etc.) ?

There does not appear to be an internal command for the button bar that shows the queue.
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37495
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-04-27, 10:04 UTC

He can show it by tapping on the media player line in the Android notifications (not on pause or next, but on the text).

If you really need a button, you can create it like this:
1. Add new button
2. Set type to "View file with app"
3. Tap on ">>" and choose "TotalCmd (Queue)"
4. Delete everything in "Parameters", and Tap on "OK"
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC » 2014-04-27, 15:34 UTC

I love it, thank you for the explicit instructions. The button works great.

BTW, the TC Player never shows in the notifications area. Other players (Pandora, WinAmp, XiiaLive, etc) display there, but not the TC Player.

(Samsung Note 8 w/4.2.2)
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37495
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-04-28, 07:25 UTC

BTW, the TC Player never shows in the notifications area.
Odd, I have a Galaxy S4 mini with the same Android version 4.2.2, and the player shows up just fine! It has a "play/pause" and "next" button and the current track name.

Do you get the notification when you copy something large, and then switch to some other program while the copy operation is still ongoing?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC » 2014-04-29, 00:06 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
BTW, the TC Player never shows in the notifications area.
Do you get the notification when you copy something large, and then switch to some other program while the copy operation is still ongoing?
Unfortunately, no. Testing now over wifi with a 95MB file. No notification.
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37495
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-04-29, 09:21 UTC

Sounds like you have disabled all notifications for Total Commander. The copy notification is the most basic notification possible, it should always be shown unless you disabled it.

Please open the Android settings, then tap on "App manager" or "Apps". Then tap on "Total Commander", and make sure the option to show notifications is checked.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 886
Joined: 2003-03-14, 13:37 UTC
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by *JohnFredC » 2014-04-29, 20:47 UTC

You are correct. That did the trick. Amazing, TC does notifications!

I don't ever remember turning that off, but perhaps an errant finger sometime when I wasn't paying attention.

Sorry to act like such a newbie. Gettin' old, I guess. :wink:
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37495
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-04-29, 20:53 UTC

Glad to hear that it works! These notifications are actually essential to keep the player alive while playing, while other programs are in the foreground. Otherwise Android could kill the player quickly when free memory gets too low...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

FvL
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-05-30, 18:44 UTC

Post by *FvL » 2016-05-30, 20:43 UTC

This button is essential when running TC on an Android based media player without a "Notification Area". Added it and it works fine.

Thanks for pointing me to this solution. :)

hareldvd
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-07-19, 06:10 UTC
Location: Amuka, Israel

Open TC Media Player from Homescreen

Post by *hareldvd » 2018-07-19, 06:31 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:He can show it by tapping on the media player line in the Android notifications (not on pause or next, but on the text).

If you really need a button, you can create it like this:
1. Add new button
2. Set type to "View file with app"
3. Tap on ">>" and choose "TotalCmd (Queue)"
4. Delete everything in "Parameters", and Tap on "OK"
Unfortunately I don't understand how to add a new button. Can you elaborate please?

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2558
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Open TC Media Player - How to add a new button?

Post by *Stefan2 » 2018-07-19, 07:27 UTC

hareldvd wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:
If you really need a button, you can create it like this:
1. Add new button
Unfortunately I don't understand how to add a new button. Can you elaborate please?

I just searched "Total Commander for Android" sub forum for "add a new button" and got that:
:arrow: https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=336296#336296



Also there is a HELP installed, here to read Online too:
http://www.ghisler.com/android/help.htm#buttonbar



 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

BuzzFeed34207
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-05-25, 03:22 UTC

Re: How to show the TC Media Player Queue?

Post by *BuzzFeed34207 » 2019-05-25, 04:08 UTC

I had the same problem and was on this site reading the steps. It looks like the person who wrote the solution missed a step. So I am going to lay it out properly. :D

When you first open Total Commander you will see your directory panel.
If you have both panels open you will see two sides.
You want to look down at the bottom of the left side of the panel.

You should see a + button. Upon clicking on the + button a new window will open that says Add/Edit button.
There will be five options.

Function Type will be the first one at the top.
You should see an arrow pointing down on the far right side of the window.
Click on the arrow pointing down.
A drop down menu will appear.
Click on view file with app.
Under Function Type you will see View file with app appear.

The next option is Command: To the far right of the window you will see >> to right arrows.
Click on the double right arrows.
A window will open that says Choose app.
Scroll down and find TotalCmd (Queue)
Click on TotalCmd (Queue)

The next option below is Parameters it should now say file:%P%N
Click on the parameters line and clear this information. You can also just highlight the text and cut it.

The next option is Icon (click to change) if you want to change what the button is click on the icon .
A new window will open that says Open File.
You can open a image fille if you like, or click on installed apps if you wish to use an icon associated with another app.

The next and final option is OK/APPLY.
When you are satisfied with your new button click on OK/APPLY.
You have just created your first button. You should see the new button to the left of the + button.
If you need to change the button simply long press the button and a drop down menu will appear.
Click on properties and you will be able to edit the button.
I hope this helps. Enjoy :)

Shelia628
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-06-08, 09:18 UTC

Re:

Post by *Shelia628 » 2019-06-08, 09:19 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2014-04-27, 10:04 UTC
He can show it by tapping on the media player line in the Android notifications (not on pause or next, but on the text).

If you really need a button, you can create it like this:
1. Add new button
2. Set type to "View file with app"
3. Tap on ">>" and choose "TotalCmd (Queue)"
4. Delete everything in "Parameters", and Tap on "OK"
spam link deleted
Thanks so much, your suggestion worked for me.






User came back to modify his post for to add spam links > URLs removed >> User banned

Please help us and report such post (see the [!] button) if you find them on browsing the forum, thanks.




 
Last edited by Stefan2 on 2019-06-15, 17:22 UTC, edited 2 times in total.

BuzzFeed34207
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-05-25, 03:22 UTC

Re: How to show the TC Media Player Queue?

Post by *BuzzFeed34207 » 2019-06-09, 00:16 UTC

Your welcome

Post Reply