TC Editor: Word wrap lost after screen re-rotation

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

TC Editor: Word wrap lost after screen re-rotation

Post by *DrShark » 2017-08-30, 16:30 UTC

To reproduce:
1. Open text file in TC Editor in Vertical orientation.
2. Make sure Editor's Word wrap setting is enabled.
3. Make sure you are in edit mode (virtual keyboard should be visible).
4. Rotate device screen to horizontal orientation. Editor will be auto-rotated too with a special horizontal orientation text control opened.
5. Switch to Android HomeScreen using Android Home button/key.
6. Rotate device screen back to vertical orientation.
7. Switch back to TC Editor using Android Recent Apps button/key.
Result: the text file will be opened without word wrap applied (at least it won't be a word wrap for vertical screen.)

Reproduced on Android 4.3.1 with TC4A 2.81 beta 8.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-08-31, 08:15 UTC

OK, I will try to reproduce it.

Btw, could you please test the Windows beta instead of trying to construct bugs on the Android version? I'm currently busy with the Windows beta test and don't have much time for the Android version, which is just my hobby...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2017-09-04, 09:36 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Btw, could you please test the Windows beta instead of trying to construct bugs on the Android version?
I don't think it's a good idea not to post the bugreport for TC4A as quicky as possible after I encounter it. Why? Who knows what bad things may happen tomorrow starting with a sudden death of my Android device. BTW today the first 9.10 prebeta feedback went from me to beta email.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-09-04, 12:51 UTC

I meant that you shouldn't actively try to find bugs in Android version now because it's a bad moment - instead, please try to find bugs in Windows version.

Why? Windows 10 Fall Creators Update will be released by Microsoft on October 17. By then I must have the release version completed.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2018-02-10, 21:04 UTC

The bug is not fixed as of TC4A 2.81 beta 11.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-02-12, 14:13 UTC

It works here.

Maybe you refer to the special Android input box which is shown when the keyboard is up and the screen space above it is too small?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2018-02-12, 16:50 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:It works here.

Maybe you refer to the special Android input box which is shown when the keyboard is up and the screen space above it is too small?
To make it clear what I mean, I've made a video of the issue. The link to the video went today to support email, it's subject:
TC Editor Word Wrap Issue
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2018-03-04, 14:34 UTC

So far TC4A 2.90 beta 1 wrap method works fine on Android 4.3.1 device.
I have now checked the wrap issue also on second device (Android 5.1 device, where wrap didn't work on normal screen rotation without exiting from Editor), and threre TC4A 2.90 beta 1 wrap method works fine too on files with different size.

Thanks for fixing this issue!
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

Post Reply