Select all files only

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1363
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Select all files only

Post by *wanderer »

Is there a way for the "Select all" button to have as a default only "files" and not "folders"? If not, please mark it as a wish...
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Latest TC / x32: WinXPx32 SP3 / x64: Clients/Servers from Win7SP1 through Win19Server
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39974
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Select all files only

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

No there isn't. I have considered remembering the last options chosen by the user, but that's a bit risky - the user may forget that he unchecked files and/or folders, and wonder why nothing gets selected.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1363
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Re: Select all files only

Post by *wanderer »

I agree. How about an "ini" option then? :) Something in the "configure" dialog? Like in Windows TC.
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Latest TC / x32: WinXPx32 SP3 / x64: Clients/Servers from Win7SP1 through Win19Server
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39974
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Select all files only

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

There is no ini on Android, and changing the xmls is a bit hard for regular users. :(
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1363
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Re: Select all files only

Post by *wanderer »

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2018-08-20, 10:36 UTC
There is no ini on Android, and changing the xmls is a bit hard for regular users. :(
I meant it as a wish for you to add an option in the "configure" dialog.
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Latest TC / x32: WinXPx32 SP3 / x64: Clients/Servers from Win7SP1 through Win19Server
User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1363
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Re: Select all files only

Post by *wanderer »

I'm reviving this thread again, after accidentally deleting some folders on my android device. I didn't remember fast enough to uncheck the "select folders" checkbox and the damage was made. Thankfully i had them on backup (well, most of them), so...

Christian, please change the default value of the "select folders" checkbox to "false", before i accidentally delete the Android root folder someday! :o :)
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Latest TC / x32: WinXPx32 SP3 / x64: Clients/Servers from Win7SP1 through Win19Server
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39974
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Select all files only

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks for the suggestion. Maybe it would be better to remember the last value?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1363
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Re: Select all files only

Post by *wanderer »

I believe it's a little dangerous. If one changes it once because he needs it at that time, the next time he will not remember to change it back. IMO, it would be better to have a default value and stick to it.
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Latest TC / x32: WinXPx32 SP3 / x64: Clients/Servers from Win7SP1 through Win19Server
JOUBE
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 709
Joined: 2004-07-08, 08:58 UTC

Re: Select all files only

Post by *JOUBE »

wanderer wrote:
2020-07-16, 08:32 UTC
it would be better to have a default value and stick to it.
That's the way it is in the moment... ;-) So, no change is nessessary I think.

JOUBE
Post Reply