Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
AldoMC
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-02-28, 18:06 UTC

Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Post by *AldoMC » 2019-02-28, 18:09 UTC

Hello.

I was wondering if Dex compatibility is possible with Total Commander for Android. It would be nice to have a desktop experience with Dex enabled phones.

Thanks.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37344
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-03-01, 07:33 UTC

The beta version should work with Dex, but I cannot test it because my Samsung is too old (I'm still using a Galaxy S5).
You can try the beta here:
https://play.google.com/apps/testing/com.ghisler.android.TotalCommander
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

AldoMC
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-02-28, 18:06 UTC

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Post by *AldoMC » 2019-03-01, 12:43 UTC

Thanks for replying!

I am using the latest beta on a Galaxy S9 and TC works as if it were in portrait mode on a larger screen.
What Iexpected was the app to be Dex aware and behave like some other Dex apps with a desktop like experience, similar to total commander on Windows.

I wonder if it is possible.

Thanks again.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37344
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-03-01, 19:59 UTC

That's odd - according to the following page, all that needs to be done to support DEX is to add
android:resizeableActivity="true"
to the activity. I have this set for the main Total Commander activity. And that's from Samsung directly.
See:
https://developer.samsung.com/samsung-dex/modify-optimizing

But there is also a lot of code on that page which can be used to detect various DEX modes. I don't know which of that is mandatory and which os optional, and I cannot test it. Sorry, I cannot help you for now, it's not clear what I need to change.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37344
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-03-06, 09:37 UTC

Unfortunately I still couldn't find out what to change to let the user resize Total Commander on DEX.

However, I found an option which should allow the user to resize any app:
Open Settings > Samsung DeX > Find “Samsung Dex Labs” and turn on.

Described here:
http://cooltechtrends.com/how-to-resize-the-window-or-go-to-the-full-screen-on-samsung-dex
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

AldoMC
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-02-28, 18:06 UTC

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Post by *AldoMC » 2019-06-13, 12:05 UTC

Is it possible to implement 50/50 panels when using Dex?
Right now its fixed to 70/30 I think.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37344
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-06-13, 19:18 UTC

The 70/30 panels are used to show to the user which is the active panel, and also to have more screen space for the side you work in.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply