Error executing program! (31)

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
cubic
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: 2007-07-18, 12:21 UTC

Error executing program! (31)

Post by *cubic » 2015-10-15, 18:54 UTC

Hi

I just installed Win 10 64 bits. It sucks :) Anyway, when I double click a JPG file to view it in Irfan I get this error "Error executing program! (31)" from Total Commander. It works if I drag/drop the jpg file over Irfan icon (in TCMD toolbar).

________________

I use:
TCMD 8.52a 64bits
Win 10 64 bits (activated)

Related topics?: http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=31058

cubic
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: 2007-07-18, 12:21 UTC

Post by *cubic » 2015-10-15, 19:37 UTC

Solved by running Irfan as admin so it could correctly associate itself with image files. Strange that before doing this, double clicking a jpg file in Total Commander didn't worked, but in WinExplorer worked (even though the file was open not in Irfan but in MSPaint).

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8816
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2015-10-15, 19:38 UTC

I cannot reproduce this under Windows 10 64 bit with neither 32bit nor 64bit TC 8.52a

Are you sure .jpg is associated to IrfanView in your Windows setup - does the IrfanView icon show next to the file name?
Last edited by petermad on 2015-10-19, 22:01 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2015-10-19, 10:23 UTC

This error 31 means that one program (Total Commander?) was running as Administrator, and the other program (Irfanview) was also already running, but as a normal user. Due to the account protection, DDE (dynamic data exchange) between the two will be blocked. You need to close Irfanview if you opened it from Explorer (running as normal user) and then want to use it from Total Commander if it is run as administrator.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

BrickB
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-04-01, 14:37 UTC
Location: Poland

Re: Error executing program! (31)

Post by *BrickB » 2019-10-05, 12:34 UTC

I had the same error (Windows 10 x64).
I set IrfanView as default photo viewer in Windows Control Panel (Control Panel=>Default Programs=>Photo Viewer=>Irfan View) and it helped. IrfanView has small message in Properties/Settings=>Extensions "If Win 10 warrnings, please use the sytem control panel" but I didn't notice it at first time.
I hope it will be useful for someone

Post Reply