X64Menu=1 problems

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8201
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

X64Menu=1 problems

Post by *petermad » 2019-01-04, 22:33 UTC

If I have X64Menu=1 in my wincmd.ini file and I am running the 64bit version of TC, then clicking the context menu item "X32" -> "Configure..." does not open the configuration dialog correctly - I only get the upper right corner of the dialog (the red x) see: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/x64menu1.png - the "window" can be closed with Alt+F4.

If I have X64Menu=1 in my wincmd.ini file and I am running the 32bit version of TC under a 32bit OS like Windows XP 32bit, then hovering the context menu item "X64" gives the error message:
---------------------------
Total Commander
---------------------------
Program not found!

C:\totalcmd\tcmdx32.exe
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
This menu item should not be shown at all under a 32bit OS - it dosen't make sense. If i do copy the tcmdx32.exe file from the 64 bit version of TC to TC's program folder, I don't get this error.


History.txt says:
03.05.18 Release Total Commander 9.20 beta 1 (32/64)
.
25.03.18 Fixed: "x32" submenu in file right click context menu (only displayed with X64menu=1 in [Configuration]): menu item "Configure..." not working (64)
But apparently this fix got lost again. The first time the bug appears is in TC 9.10b1 (just with an error sound), and as from TC 9.20b1 the diminiutive window as seen in http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/x64menu1.png is shown.

.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37013
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: X64Menu=1 problems

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-01-07, 15:33 UTC

Don't set X64Menu=1 on 32-bit windows, it is meaningless. Just remove that line. The fix was about something else.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8201
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: X64Menu=1 problems

Post by *petermad » 2019-01-07, 17:24 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
But what about the first part of my bug report - the corrupted configuration window under 64bit TC - can you confirm that?

I might use TC from a USB-stick with a combined 32bit and 64bit installation with a common wincmd.ini file, thus having the need for the option under 64bit OS, to get the "X32" option in the context menu of 64bit TC .

I think it is better that the same wincmd.ini file can be used in all circumstances, and then let it be up to TC to ignore the parameter, when it is meaningless, in stead of the user having to edit the wincmd.ini file for different use.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37013
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: X64Menu=1 problems

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-01-09, 11:31 UTC

I can confirm the bad configuration window size - looks like I never tested this dialog in the 64-bit version.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37013
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: X64Menu=1 problems

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-02-27, 16:25 UTC

This should be fixed in Total Commander 9.22 release candidate 1, please test it!

The x64menu ini option should now be ignored on 32-bit Windows.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8201
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: X64Menu=1 problems

Post by *petermad » 2019-02-27, 22:12 UTC

Both problems confirmed fixed in TC 9.22rc1 :-)
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply