Alt-F1 stopped working (>> Nvidia Shadowplay Feature)

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Simplex
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015-11-14, 09:27 UTC

Alt-F1 stopped working (>> Nvidia Shadowplay Feature)

Post by *Simplex » 2015-11-14, 09:31 UTC

Hello,

Something weird happened yesterday, out of the blue. The drive list for the left panel no longer appears when I use Alt-F1 shortcut. Alt-F2 works fine, but Alt-F1 does not work. I restarted my PC, closed all background programs and it still does not work. I suspect it is not the fault of Total Commander, but of some external factors - but I have no idea what can be causing this. Any suggestions?

I have Win7 64bit and Total Commander 8.52a


---
German thread: Alt+F1 funktioniert nicht mehr

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3517
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2015-11-14, 11:31 UTC

You may use Windows Hotkey Explorer (free) to identify the culprit.
#5767 Personal license

User avatar
Simplex
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015-11-14, 09:27 UTC

Post by *Simplex » 2015-11-14, 16:07 UTC

Thanks, great tip!

Turns out Nvidia Shadowplay Feature is reserving this shortcut, is there any way to disable it externally? I can't find an option to do it in the software which reserves it.

i . imgur . com/hwzILm4 . png

(sorry, I had to add spaces because of anti spam protection)

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-11-14, 16:27 UTC

Do you need/use this nVidia Shadowplay software? If not, you may disable it.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Simplex
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015-11-14, 09:27 UTC

Post by *Simplex » 2015-11-14, 17:14 UTC

I use it to record gameplay, but I will disable it when I do not need it. Thanks again for the tip!
Simplex
#158889 Personal licence

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38738
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2015-11-16, 11:00 UTC

If Alt+F1 is blocked and cannot be reassigned, you can also use Alt+Shift+F1 in Total Commander.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
omdawe
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: 2009-01-28, 06:36 UTC

Post by *omdawe » 2017-07-25, 05:12 UTC

I found it! For anybody else that needs help with this, its in the "Geforce Experience" software - click the "Share" button - then the "Settings" - lastly the "keyboard shortcuts" then just click click a new button you like change it to, i changed mine to be Alt-F11.

User avatar
omdawe
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: 2009-01-28, 06:36 UTC

Re: Alt-F1 stopped working (>> Nvidia Shadowplay Feature)

Post by *omdawe » 2019-12-22, 08:53 UTC

I hade the same problem again and the old fix did not work any more.. i had to turn of in-game overlay

http://prntscr.com/qe7vom

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38738
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Alt-F1 stopped working (>> Nvidia Shadowplay Feature)

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-12-23, 15:04 UTC

It's probably still running. Try pressing Alt+Z, this allows you to reassign the hotkeys.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply