Synchronize directories and auto compare

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
he
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-06-05, 12:24 UTC

Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *he »

Is it possible to get the Synchronize directories dialog to automatically compare the two directories when the dialog opens? Now I have to press the Compare button first.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9598
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *petermad »

AFAIK not without the use of some external script engine like AHK.

But the "Compare" button is preselected, so you can just press the Enter or Space key in stead of clicking the button with the mouse.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

he
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-06-05, 12:24 UTC

Re: Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *he »

Good tips about Enter or Space! But i hope for, at least as an option, that the auto compare feature will be added in the future.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1976
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *tuska »

Maybe I understand something wrong, but with this button the comparison starts automatically.

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%COMMANDER_EXE%
/S=S:= "%X%Z%P" "%T"
TOTALCMD.EXE,32
Synchronize CURRENT directories  ||  separate task!|Comparison starts immediately!
%COMMANDER_PATH%\
0
-1
You can use the code to create a button as follows:
1. Click on "SELECT ALL" (to the right of CODE:)
2. CTRL + C = Copy to clipboard (press the CTRL-key and hold it down, then press the letter "C")
3. Make a right click on your buttonbar on an empty space [e.g. after the last button or between the buttons]
4. Click on menu item "Paste" (see also point 5.)
5. [If you do not see the icon immediately (or just the icon outlines and a possible tooltip, if you point the cursor on the place,
5.  on which the button was inserted before), then again a right click into the buttonbar is necessary, then "Change", "OK" ->
5.  at the latest then the icon will be visible]
6. [Option: Point to the new button (slightly longer): 'Tooltip' is shown (-> description to the button)]

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3706
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *Horst.Epp »

tuska wrote:
2019-04-13, 09:52 UTC
Maybe I understand something wrong, but with this button the comparison starts automatically.
...
No, it doesn't.
You still need to press the Compare button.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.264)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.983 (x64)

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9598
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *petermad »

2tuska
I stand corrected :oops:

After re-checking - it can also be done with the SYNCOPEN command:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
SYNCOPEN =

wcmicons.dll,48
Synchronize CURRENT directories, comparison starts immediately!


-1
To make the button:
1. Mark the green text above (click SELECT ALL).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (press Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".
Last edited by petermad on 2019-04-13, 11:23 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9598
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *petermad »

2Horst.Epp
No, it doesn't.
Yes it does - it all comes down to the = in the command line:
%COMMANDER_EXE% /S=S:=
SYNCOPEN =

history.txt:
03.08.09 Added: Auto-start internal sync tool with parameter SYNCOPEN =SettingsName or just SYNCOPEN =
03.08.09 Added: Auto-start external sync tool with parameter /S=S:=SettingsName or just /S=S:= when passing the paths separately
Help:
Command line parameters
/S=S Start "Synchronize dirs" directly, accepts two paths as parameters, or alternatively a settings name in the form /S=S:SettingsName
If the parameter begins with an equal sign "=", e.g. /S=S:=SettingsName, the comparison will start immediately. If the equal sign is the only parameter, e.g. /S=S:= , the comparison will start with the passed directories and last used options.
But you still have to click the Synchronize button after the Compare is done...
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3706
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *Horst.Epp »

:oops: :)
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.264)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.983 (x64)

he
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-06-05, 12:24 UTC

Re: Synchronize directories and auto compare

Post by *he »

Excellent!
This is the way I want it to be! Auto compare and then deselect files and finally manually click Synchronize.

Post Reply