MD5 checksum isn't ANSI file

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
puchol
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-01-13, 13:24 UTC

MD5 checksum isn't ANSI file

Post by *puchol » 2019-10-30, 18:52 UTC

Hi, is anybody explain me what wrong with my checksum plugin? Few days ago everything worked great, but now md5 file is UTF-8 not ANSI. I have to open it in notepad and save as ANSi to verify check sum. Maybe it has to do with instal Windows 10 new updates, but I can't find solution how to change back to ANSI.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38190
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: MD5 checksum isn't ANSI file

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-10-31, 09:38 UTC

Maybe one of the checked files contains characters outside of your local codepage? For example, some Russian characters look like Latin but are completely different. There are also special long dashes which look like "-" but are longer, and they are outside most codepages.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

puchol
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-01-13, 13:24 UTC

Re: MD5 checksum isn't ANSI file

Post by *puchol » 2019-10-31, 18:27 UTC

I'm not sure because files name i've used contains only local codepage. Bellow there is print screen, this is md sum file opened in notepad on WIndows7, it's in ANSI codepage, the same operation in W10 gives me defalut save as UTF-8.
A week maybe two ago everything worked well, recently something has changed, I think it must have something to do with the W10 system.

https://imgur.com/a/yMcRsVh

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38190
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: MD5 checksum isn't ANSI file

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-11-01, 15:16 UTC

Please open the Windows control panel, Regional and Language Options. Then check what is set as language for non-Unicode programs.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply