How to set the color of active item background

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
shawn
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2007-04-05, 17:30 UTC

How to set the color of active item background

Post by *shawn »

Version: 9.22a

I want to change the color of the active item background to be something darker. Currently it looks like this:
Image: http://hanstyle.dyndns.dk/temp/TC.1.png

When I select multiple items, the background color is much darker, and I want the color above to be something like this but a little bit different:
Image: http://hanstyle.dyndns.dk/temp/TC.2.png

Here is my color settings right now. I have tried many times but still don’t have a clue. Please help!Image: http://hanstyle.dyndns.dk/temp/TC.3.png

BTW, am I not allowed to post picture attachments? I wrapped /img tag to my image links, but how come it doesn't how the image?
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9815
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *petermad »

Just remove the selection of "Use Windows theme for cursor" and instead select "Use inverted cursor" - then you can define the color of the cursor with "Cursor color" setting.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10b8 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
shawn
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2007-04-05, 17:30 UTC

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *shawn »

petermad wrote:
2019-12-15, 09:59 UTC
Just remove the selection of "Use Windows theme for cursor" and instead select "Use inverted cursor" - then you can define the color of the cursor with "Cursor color" setting.
Thank you, peter.
This does change the color of the cursor item background. However, it also changes the color of multiple select items background (My Picture #2). I want the #2 colors remain the same. The whole idea is to make both the cursor and the selected items outstanding. Is there any way to do that?
shawn
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2007-04-05, 17:30 UTC

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *shawn »

I did more research today and I realize this is not as simple as it seems.
The color in my picture #2 comes from Windows theme and it is the same color Windows Explorer uses for active item(s). There is no easy way to change this color because it is not just a color, it's actually a picture. In order to change it you will need tools like "Windows Style Builder v1.5" to modify the theme.

However, I wish I can customize my own color in TC instead of using the Windows color. Make sense?
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9815
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *petermad »

Unfortunately TC does dot allow to activate both the "Use inverted cursor" and "Use inverted selection" at the same time
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10b8 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39940
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

It doesn't because then it wouldn't be possible to tell whether the current file is selected or not.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
shawn
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2007-04-05, 17:30 UTC

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *shawn »

It is possible to tell. Please check the picture below. The top 4 folders are selected and the current/active one is the first folder. You can tell from the color difference. I know the color difference is not obvious, that’s because the default Windows color for the active item is too light, and that’s the reason I started this thread.

Image: http://hanstyle.dyndns.dk/temp/TC.5.png

Or, you can put some border line like the picture below to identify which one is active.

Image: http://hanstyle.dyndns.dk/temp/TC.4.png
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9815
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *petermad »

Or, you can put some border line like the picture below to identify which one is active.
Like this: https://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/colorsetup.png

But, I know - this solution just sets a blue border around the active element, not the background.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10b8 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39940
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

2shawn
You can see that "autokms" is the current/active one, but you can't tell whether it's selected or not.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9815
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *petermad »

You can see that "autokms" is the current/active one, but you can't tell whether it's selected or not.
Yes, you can, because the text is green...
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10b8 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
shawn
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2007-04-05, 17:30 UTC

Re: How to set the color of active item background

Post by *shawn »

petermad wrote:
2019-12-18, 17:52 UTC
You can see that "autokms" is the current/active one, but you can't tell whether it's selected or not.
Yes, you can, because the text is green...
If "autokms" folder in the screenshot is not selected/marked, not only the text isn't green, but also the background color is light blue, as in the very first screenshot.
Image: http://hanstyle.dyndns.dk/temp/TC.1.png
Post Reply