Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
omdawe
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: 2009-01-28, 06:36 UTC

Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by omdawe »

Im a registered user and been using since Norton Commander and now as i got older Im stuck at Total Commander 7.56 because i got so many plugins and hot keys setup already. I tried a couple of times to upgrade and i just get bored and stay with my 7.56 package instead.

I just installed 9.22 and it was so long time a go i updated so could not even remember what the reg file was called to put in the new installed folder.

Do people still make TC packages any more?

Is it even a point of updating?

PS. Do even someone run TC without plugins?

User avatar
Wilhelm M.
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 792
Joined: 2003-06-05, 10:45 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by Wilhelm M. »

7.56 is really old... However, most of the plugins you are currently using should also work with 9.22a. Therefore I would try a simple update. Just get the installation file from Ghislers Homepage and run it. When asked if you want a new installation or update an existing one, select the update. TC will use the existing ini files and the registry keys (if present). And see what happens. As I said, most of it will still work. Maybe some plugins are outdated and you have to update those as well. But that should'nt be much work.
I update TC irregularly and some of my plugins are probably not much younger than yours. I update these only if the old ones have problems or lack features I could need. Just try. And BTW: TC is a piece of software that is very rarely updated compared to others. Updating it once a year keeps the installation very close to up-to-date.
Besides, in TC the places ot the ini files are shown in Help/About Total Commander. So you can always find them easily.
Grüße/Regards,
Wilhelm

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2717
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by Stefan2 »

omdawe wrote:
2019-12-21, 13:35 UTC
....could not even remember what the reg file was called to put in the new installed folder....

To become registered, copy your bought license file "wincmd.key" to the new TC folder.


HTH?

FAQs: TC 9.50 - Tips & Tricks for new user // Update // Backup
https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=54260&p=360199#p360199


 

User avatar
Wilhelm M.
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 792
Joined: 2003-06-05, 10:45 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by Wilhelm M. »

Right. But if he just makes a simple update, the registration will not be changed.
Grüße/Regards,
Wilhelm

User avatar
omdawe
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: 2009-01-28, 06:36 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by omdawe »

Ok i tried "update" but that did not work as i downloaded the 64 bits and mine is not 64 bit as that did not exist then, so i guess i try again tomorrow with the 32 bit!.

wincmd.key oooo that was the name of the file.. i was searching for something called reg.

But why don't a package exist any more. it was so many before.

Is it anything really new in TC i need?

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2717
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by Stefan2 »

omdawe wrote:
2019-12-21, 17:32 UTC
Is it anything really new in TC i need?

https://ghisler.ch/board/viewforum.php?f=3
>> Total Commander 9.50 beta 10 available
>>> Complete list of changes.






 

User avatar
omdawe
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: 2009-01-28, 06:36 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by omdawe »

Thanks for sending a list to the changes. But i mean, is it really anything NEW? Like i spoke about making a better way to go from listing files in details to viewing images, about 10 years on this forum by using scroll wheel! Or why we got this MASSIVE space between items when listing thumbnails? Im just asking is it anything new more the vertical buttons i turn off strait away that is useful to know about?

So anyway i updated my old TC with the 32 bit. and that worked!

User avatar
Wilhelm M.
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 792
Joined: 2003-06-05, 10:45 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by Wilhelm M. »

Congratulations!
There are many new features in the recent versions of TC. But I must admit that, although I usually try these features at the beginning, I find myself using only very few of them in the actual everyday work. But others see that very differently, so everyone has to decide. However since there are always slight improvements of the old "hardcore" features as well I update at least when a new major release is available.
Grüße/Regards,
Wilhelm

User avatar
omdawe
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: 2009-01-28, 06:36 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by omdawe »

OOo thanks WillHelmet! I will try all those functions! They sound existing!
Last edited by omdawe on 2019-12-21, 21:51 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Wilhelm M.
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 792
Joined: 2003-06-05, 10:45 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by Wilhelm M. »

Well, I have never worn a helmet in my life! :D. If the helm irridates you, you can always call me William. :wink:
Grüße/Regards,
Wilhelm

User avatar
omdawe
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: 2009-01-28, 06:36 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by omdawe »

Hehehe.. i was just kidding, as you WILL or would or did not really say anything not even a HELMET or helped me what is new!

User avatar
Wilhelm M.
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 792
Joined: 2003-06-05, 10:45 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by Wilhelm M. »

omdawe wrote:
2019-12-21, 21:54 UTC
Hehehe.. i was just kidding
Me too... or is it #MeToo ?
Grüße/Regards,
Wilhelm

User avatar
omdawe
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: 2009-01-28, 06:36 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by omdawe »

I wanted to put a image from Spaceballs that i was thinking would fit!

Image: https://c.imge.to/2019/12/22/vns3fY.gif

But images do not work on this forum!

User avatar
Wilhelm M.
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 792
Joined: 2003-06-05, 10:45 UTC

Re: Stuck at Total Commander 7.56 how to update?

Post by Wilhelm M. »

:D :D :D :D :D
Grüße/Regards,
Wilhelm

Post Reply