moving files from desktop

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
mark
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2003-03-24, 15:19 UTC

moving files from desktop

Post by *mark » 2003-03-24, 15:27 UTC

How do I move files from the desktop into a folder in TC rather than have it copied from the desktop? I was unable to find an option for doing this, or other related posts on the topic. Thanks for your help.

User avatar
Leif
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 328
Joined: 2003-02-05, 15:44 UTC
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: moving files from desktop

Post by *Leif » 2003-03-24, 15:30 UTC

mark wrote:How do I move files from the desktop into a folder in TC rather than have it copied from the desktop? I was unable to find an option for doing this, or other related posts on the topic. Thanks for your help.
Just use F6 like always.

mark
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2003-03-24, 15:19 UTC

Post by *mark » 2003-03-24, 16:08 UTC

Thanks for the quick response.
Sorry, I should have been more explicit.
What I had in mind was dragging and dropping files from the Windows desktop into a TC folder that occupied, say, 25% of the screen.

User avatar
norfie
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2003-02-18, 14:18 UTC

Post by *norfie » 2003-03-24, 16:12 UTC

Last edited by norfie on 2004-09-10, 19:28 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-12, 07:27 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *Aezay » 2003-03-24, 18:09 UTC

Drag & drop with the right mouse key instead of the left.
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.

User avatar
Black Dog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1024
Joined: 2003-02-05, 22:17 UTC
Location: Odessa
Contact:

Post by *Black Dog » 2003-03-25, 01:36 UTC

[face=courier]On 24-03-2003 20:09:13 +0000 Aezay wrote:

A> Drag & drop with the right mouse key instead of the left.

Doesn't work with classical right mouse button assignment. In this case you should press and hold right button while you make D&D with left.[/face]

User avatar
mhe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: 2003-02-16, 15:09 UTC

Post by *mhe » 2003-03-25, 14:29 UTC

Copy/paste works so does drag and drop with shift.

Or you can make a new "change directorymenu" entry (ctrl+d) thats how i solved it.

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3501
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2003-03-25, 17:58 UTC

I even have a menu item already assigned to cm_OpenDesktop.

This shows the desktop contents as files in the TC panel and allows all the easy file handling :)
#5767 Personal license

User avatar
Black Dog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1024
Joined: 2003-02-05, 22:17 UTC
Location: Odessa
Contact:

Post by *Black Dog » 2003-03-28, 00:17 UTC

[face=courier]On 25-03-2003 19:58:49 +0000 sqa_wizar wrote:

s> I even have a menu item already assigned to cm_OpenDesktop.

Just in case you don't know about that - you can do the same with "\\" from CL.
BTW, "cd \\" from CL opens Network Neighborhood as well as "\\" from Path bur.[/face]

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3501
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2003-03-28, 13:08 UTC

Thanks Black Dog its even new for me !

I keep on learning and discovering new features even after years of daily TC usage :)
#5767 Personal license

Post Reply