[SOLVED] hotkey to show/hide menu bar

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
fdsazcw123
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: 2018-11-23, 09:16 UTC

[SOLVED] hotkey to show/hide menu bar

Post by *fdsazcw123 »

hi, need some help here, much appreciated.

just wonder, is it possible to assign a hotkey to show/hide the menu bar.

thanks and stay safe!
Last edited by fdsazcw123 on 2020-07-17, 15:12 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14808
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: hotkey to show/hide menu bar

Post by *petermad »

You would have to use RestrictInterface=1 in you wincmd.ini file to hide the Start menu, and you need to use a menu file with no content to hide the menu (for example nomenu.mnu of zero bytes) - put the file in TC's Language directory.

You can use the command:

Code: Select all

OPENLANGUAGEFILE nomenu.mnu
to hide the menu and:

Code: Select all

OPENLANGUAGEFILE wcmd_xxx.mnu
to open your normal menu (xxx is your language) - if you use standard English you can omit wcmd_xxx.mnu.

Make two em_commands for this in your usercmd.ini and assign each command to a shortcut key.

You can not do it with one shortcut - you need two
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
fdsazcw123
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: 2018-11-23, 09:16 UTC

Re: hotkey to show/hide menu bar

Post by *fdsazcw123 »

petermad wrote: 2020-07-16, 17:20 UTC You would have to use RestrictInterface=1 in you wincmd.ini file to hide the Start menu, and you need to use a menu file with no content to hide the menu (for example nomenu.mnu of zero bytes) - put the file in TC's Language directory.

You can use the command:

Code: Select all

OPENLANGUAGEFILE nomenu.mnu
to hide the menu and:

Code: Select all

OPENLANGUAGEFILE wcmd_xxx.mnu
to open your normal menu (xxx is your language) - if you use standard English you can omit wcmd_xxx.mnu.

Make two em_commands for this in your usercmd.ini and assign each command to a shortcut key.

You can not do it with one shortcut - you need two
thanks
Post Reply