SuSE Linux 8.2 using Wine successfully ran Total Commander

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

kriko

SuSE Linux 8.2 using Wine successfully ran Total Commander

Post by *kriko »

Hey everybody,

I am new here. Haven't purchased lincense yet, because well, as I am a student I don't have enough income myself. But well, I like Total Commander alot :) It it absolutely the best file explorer in the world :D Atleast, I haven't found better one yet. I used Norton Commander alot years years ago, when I had IBM 386, oh well, and then later I discovered the magical Windows Commander :D

Well, I have read topics that you are trying to port it to Linux. But some days ago, I sucessfully installed SuSE Linux 8.2, well, I thought I would try it out. And I ran Total Commander ver 5.51 using WINE (the emulator). I personally didn't have to do much, just press some times yes and then it ran.

It sucessfully displayed the window and even the colors were right. It even showed the contents of the Windows hard drive, but not the Linux drive (ext3 formatted, I think). It was even able to log in to ftp :D If my memory is not lying to me :P Well, yes, I was able to connect to my ftp server and delete and rename some files there :D Only problem I noticed was the file selection, it seemed, when you move over the files with arrows, then it selects the file automatically, but I could select the files I needed with mouse :)

So I am really really happy about it, especially because you are still trying to port it. Now well, I hope it will be ported sucessfully to Linux. I am kinda Linux newbie. Haven't used it much, and I do get sick of it time to time, because I have been influenced with Windows for the last ugh, 6 years I think. Before that MS-DOS.

If I bother to reboot my computer back to Linux, then I will try to some screenshots if I can and maybe try to modify some files on my hdd.