MultiArc - archiver plugin

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 432
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2013-07-01, 12:07 UTC

Ok, thanks for the answers :)

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 432
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2013-07-01, 13:49 UTC

MVV wrote:TC asks to unpack file by file for text search while console archivers doesn't allow to keep state between unpack operations, therefore it is terribly slow with large solid archives.
Also other plugin as Total7zip have same problem or how to solve it??

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8301
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2013-07-01, 14:12 UTC

Problem exists for any format that supports solid compression (most of modern ones). It is necessary to keep state between file unpacks in order to avoid it. And it is possible to do it in case of single-module plugin because TC asks to unpack files in same order plugin lists them (so plugin can move within solid block and extract needed files w/o returning to the beginning of block).
However I don't know how different plugins are constructed. AFAIK Total7zip unpacks bunches of files per request in order to reduce number of unpacks - bunch size may be changed using extractToTempCount parameter.

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 432
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2013-07-02, 16:38 UTC

when use Total7zip the progression form is indipendent.
whe instead i use MA, with 7zg.exe, TC freeze until the compression is ended.
Do it is possible to do MA as Total7zip?

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8301
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2013-07-02, 18:09 UTC

Multiarc doesn't allow to read progress information from archivers. It is hard to realize in case of console archivers (different archivers show progress in different ways) and imposible in case of GUI ones. It is another Multiarc limitation.

Total7zip of course gets proress information from 7-Zip library.

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 432
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2013-07-02, 18:22 UTC

I not to read progress information from archivers.
I see it in 7zg window.
I need only to MA immediately return after command and not wati it finish.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8301
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2013-07-02, 18:53 UTC

Ah. Multiarc always waits untli archiver finish its work. You can create buttonbar button and call 7zg directly in order to run in in background.

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 432
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2013-07-02, 19:03 UTC

I tryed to execute in MA a dos batch:
START "7z" /MIN "C:\Program fILES\7-Zip\7zg.exe" a ...
that in dos immediatly return.
Instead in MA wait the same as the end of 7zg.exe instead of that of the dos batch.
How is this possible?

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8301
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2013-07-02, 19:24 UTC

Try to execute something like this from Multiarc.ini command:

Code: Select all

cmd.exe /c \"start \"7z\" /min ...\"
(you need to use \" when you need to add double quote)

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 432
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2013-07-02, 20:19 UTC

So I can not make it work.
But my problem is not that it does not work but that keeps it locked MA TC for the whole execution of 7ZG instead you end up with an immediate end to START.
I would this script without modal frezee of TC.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8301
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2013-07-03, 05:57 UTC

Yeah, it really waits until I close inner cmd...

Code: Select all

Add=cmd.exe /c \"start cmd.exe /k echo hey!\"
But it doesn't wait in such case:

Code: Select all

Add=Exec.exe cmd.exe /c \"start cmd.exe /k echo hey!\"
:D

(with Exec.exe taken from my VirtualPanel plugin package; or I think any non-console intermediate launcher will help too)

TychoBarfy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 268
Joined: 2005-08-13, 15:13 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *TychoBarfy » 2013-07-05, 01:12 UTC

Thanks, MVV

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 432
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2013-07-22, 21:49 UTC

After that I use the computer with plenty of memory, if I use MultiArc to compress the file, the temporary file (in %TEMP%\$mltwcx) with the list of files to be compressed is not created and MA returns a "Errorlevel returned: 255".
So, if I restart TC fixes the problem.
Is a problem of MA or TC. you can solve it?

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 432
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet » 2013-07-23, 20:29 UTC

Ma have problem with Unicode?
I have a command line packer and MA send "È" character as "Ô" to command line and to list file and then the script not work.
If i edit list file and command line from Ô to È it turn to work.
Do it have a fix?

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8301
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2013-07-24, 06:16 UTC

After that I use the computer with plenty of memory, if I use MultiArc to compress the file, the temporary file (in %TEMP%\$mltwcx) with the list of files to be compressed is not created and MA returns a "Errorlevel returned: 255".
It may be archiver problem too. You should tell which archiver you're using.
Ma have problem with Unicode?
MA doesn't support it at all. :)
It was designed for using together with old console programs that don't support Unicode.

Post Reply