[WFX] VirtualPanel: Temporary panel for TC

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9657
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2dschordsch
download the zip from here.
Click on it in Total Commander, install it.
Navigate to your Network folder
These 3 should not be necessasary:

From the Help file:
How to install a plugin?
Newer plugins can be installed automatically just by double clicking the plugin ZIP file. You will be asked where to put the plugin, and Total Commander does the rest.
Plugins and Languages
2. File system plugins
File system plugins are used via the Network Neighborhood.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

Have you ever read the Readme? It is not difficult at all when you read the documentation.
After installing plugin, it can be accessed via Network Neighbourhood just like any other file system plugin.
And why should every plugin's Readme describe the same installation procedure?

I'll reorder Readme sections in order to put General features section first but I still don't sure if it will help ones who don't read the documentation.

User avatar
CZ.M
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-11-04, 17:53 UTC

Post by *CZ.M »

Hi
First of all I very thank you for that very useful tool. It is very useful to me and I really like to use it.
Is it possible to change the default location of the configuration file (fsplugin.ini). I know where it is located but I would like to change its location. I was looking for some way but I found nothing.
Best regards

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

Thank you for using it. :)

Well, I don't know if there are ways to change default TC INI names, and AFAIK these INI should always be in main TC INI folder (which may be in AppData or in TC dir).

But you can keep Virtual Panel settings in its directory, just create VirtualPanel.ini file in it and copy its section from fsplugin.ini (while plugin is unloaded of course, or just restart TC then).

User avatar
CZ.M
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-11-04, 17:53 UTC

Post by *CZ.M »

MVV wrote: But you can keep Virtual Panel settings in its directory, just create VirtualPanel.ini file in it and copy its section from fsplugin.ini (while plugin is unloaded of course, or just restart TC then).
That is what I meant to put the ini. file into directory Virtual Panel. Now Virtual Panel saves the settings in your directory. In setings parameters of Virtual Panel now is a new location of ini. file. The old file (fsplugin.ini) was removed.
Thank You
:D

jmwap
Member
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: 2008-03-23, 12:40 UTC

Post by *jmwap »

Hi,

I have upgraded to TC9.0a and I am having an issue that did not have in TC8.5

- if I have a zip in a normal dir, I can enter it as usual (I have Total7zip too)
- but if the zip is in a VP folder, then it justs spawns a Windows Explorer window, opening the zip in it.

Is this a known issue?

thanks!

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3758
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

jmwap wrote:Hi,

I have upgraded to TC9.0a and I am having an issue that did not have in TC8.5

- if I have a zip in a normal dir, I can enter it as usual (I have Total7zip too)
- but if the zip is in a VP folder, then it justs spawns a Windows Explorer window, opening the zip in it.

Is this a known issue?

thanks!
Confirmed.
Archives are opened with the application registered in the OS
and not with any TC plugin.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.331)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.984 (x64)

jmwap
Member
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: 2008-03-23, 12:40 UTC

Post by *jmwap »

Horst.Epp wrote:
jmwap wrote:Hi,

I have upgraded to TC9.0a and I am having an issue that did not have in TC8.5

- if I have a zip in a normal dir, I can enter it as usual (I have Total7zip too)
- but if the zip is in a VP folder, then it justs spawns a Windows Explorer window, opening the zip in it.

Is this a known issue?

thanks!
Confirmed.
Archives are opened with the application registered in the OS
and not with any TC plugin.
so this is a bug in TC9? or an issue with VirtualPanel or Total7zip?

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3758
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

jmwap wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
jmwap wrote:Hi,

I have upgraded to TC9.0a and I am having an issue that did not have in TC8.5

- if I have a zip in a normal dir, I can enter it as usual (I have Total7zip too)
- but if the zip is in a VP folder, then it justs spawns a Windows Explorer window, opening the zip in it.

Is this a known issue?

thanks!
Confirmed.
Archives are opened with the application registered in the OS
and not with any TC plugin.
so this is a bug in TC9? or an issue with VirtualPanel or Total7zip?
Its not related to Total7zip it also happens on other Archive types.
You have to wait for the Author of VP or Christian for an final answer
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.331)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.984 (x64)

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

Hm, I confirm that TC 9 passes ZIP, CAB archives (and most formats handled by WCX plugins) from VP to registered application instead of just entering them (and Ctrl+PgDn don't work too).

And I don't have any thoughts regarding the reason of such change. There were no changes in WFX interface regarding temp panels, TC is still able to get physical path to archive (since it opens it in external applications), but it just doesn't enter them internally anymore...

Also I don't understand why 7Z files (associated with Total7zip but not with internal TC 7Z unpacker) work as in previous TC versions (while e.g. ISO files associated with same Total7zip or MSI files associated with MSI-Plus plugin are executed externally).

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3758
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

MVV wrote:Hm, I confirm that TC 9 passes ZIP, CAB archives (and most formats handled by WCX plugins) from VP to registered application instead of just entering them (and Ctrl+PgDn don't work too).

And I don't have any thoughts regarding the reason of such change.

Also I don't understand why 7Z files (associated with Total7zip but not with internal TC 7Z unpacker) work as in previous TC versions (while e.g. ISO files associated with same Total7zip or MSI files associated with MSI-Plus plugin are executed externally).
I found that I can use Shift-Enter in VP to open Archives regardless of its type :D
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.331)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.984 (x64)

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

Well, using Shift+Enter for entering archives is a kind of dirty hack: VP sends cd command on Shift+Enter to jump to a physical file, and TC enters it... It is interesting why Enter doesn't open archives in TC 9 anyway.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3758
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

MVV wrote:Well, using Shift+Enter for entering archives is a kind of dirty hack: VP sends cd command on Shift+Enter to jump to a physical file, and TC enters it... It is interesting why Enter doesn't open archives in TC 9 anyway.
It does, Enter opens any archive for me in normal TC window.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.331)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.984 (x64)

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

I mean in temporary panel plugins. :)

BTW current situation is a bit funny: in normal panel Enter enters archives and Shift+Enter opens them in external applications, while in temporary panel all is upside-down. :D

jmwap
Member
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: 2008-03-23, 12:40 UTC

Post by *jmwap »

hey, at least there is a workaround for now, thanks for the Shift-Enter trick!!

Post Reply