Total7zip

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
kfft
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-12-26, 01:17 UTC

Post by *kfft » 2010-12-26, 14:19 UTC

Understood, we just need to indicate the full path for 7z.dll, then 7zG.exe and 7z.sfx will be loaded from the same directory, is that correct?
That's easy - Thanks

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 337
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW » 2010-12-26, 19:37 UTC

hm... call me an idiot, but i don't really get it working properly.

well, packing 7z works, also standard compression settings are saved.
but not settings for sfx, and all other bits on the right side of the settings dialog.

creating sfx or password protected files doesn't work here... i always get a plain, unprotected .7z

anyway, all in all it looks fine. :)
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

User avatar
Total7zip
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-12-18, 07:54 UTC

Post by *Total7zip » 2010-12-26, 20:41 UTC

If you want to create sfx archive - set "create self extracting archive" check box in the "Pack files" dialog.
If you want to create archive with password - set "encrypt" check box in the "Pack files" dialog - then you will enter your password.

That's it. I think this is how it should work in Total Commander.

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 337
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW » 2010-12-26, 21:15 UTC

you are right, thanks!

i knew the problem must be at my end.
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

User avatar
Total7zip
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-12-18, 07:54 UTC

Post by *Total7zip » 2010-12-27, 06:20 UTC

update 2010/12/27:
version 0.6.0.3 (hotfix, wcx file only) - download
-fixed "the configuration dialog itself did not remember my previous archive format (i.e. after packing to .7z, it still offered me .zip packing the next time)." Total7zip sets archive format to 7z now. Note: plugin can create 7z archives, settings for other archive formats will be supported in next versions.

infimum
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-12-08, 18:43 UTC

Post by *infimum » 2010-12-27, 08:08 UTC

I may be doing something wrong, but Total7zip can't extract files from this LZH archive.

My set up is:
Unchecked "use internal un-LZH" in Configuration -> Packer
lzh is associated with Total7zip in the [PackerPlugins] section of wincmd.ini with number 196.

I can open the archive but can't extract files. Independent 7-Zip can extract files from this archive.

User avatar
Total7zip
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-12-18, 07:54 UTC

Post by *Total7zip » 2010-12-27, 09:24 UTC

infimum wrote:I may be doing something wrong, but Total7zip can't extract files from this LZH archive.

My set up is:
Unchecked "use internal un-LZH" in Configuration -> Packer
lzh is associated with Total7zip in the [PackerPlugins] section of wincmd.ini with number 196.

I can open the archive but can't extract files. Independent 7-Zip can extract files from this archive.
Total7zip CAN extract files from your archive =)
But total commander for some reason wants to open this file by himself.
Assign lzh extension to Total7zip and it will work.

You can do this with excellent TC Plugins Manager 2.2.3
http://www.totalcmd.net/plugring/tc_plugman.html

And you can use Debug View- it will show you if TC is using Total7zip or not
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896647

diceman2037
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2010-07-17, 05:41 UTC

Post by *diceman2037 » 2010-12-28, 11:04 UTC

opens multiple instances of the packer when creating separate archives per file, while 7zplugin queues the job...... going back to 7z plugin till this is addressed.

User avatar
Total7zip
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-12-18, 07:54 UTC

Post by *Total7zip » 2010-12-28, 11:50 UTC

this is already implemented - you can set
alwaysWait7zip="1"
in configuration file.
don't forget to restart total commander.

diceman2037
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2010-07-17, 05:41 UTC

Post by *diceman2037 » 2010-12-28, 14:05 UTC

Total7zip wrote:this is already implemented - you can set
alwaysWait7zip="1"
in configuration file.
don't forget to restart total commander.
this behavior should be default. its not good to suddenly have 50+ cpu heavy processes spawned instantly.

be nice if the progress window could be hidden and just use the Total commander progress window, kind of annoying to have a new progress window popup every few seconds.

User avatar
Total7zip
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-12-18, 07:54 UTC

Post by *Total7zip » 2010-12-28, 14:45 UTC

update with first version of wdx interface.
Total7zip v0.6.0.7 supports 4 custom columns
"Format",
"Encrypted",
"Info",
"Password"


You can test it if you want to help me.

I have added

Code: Select all

[ContentPlugins]
0=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\WCX\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx 
0_detect=
to my wincmd.ini and now I can use it in search dialog, and create custom views =)


http://www.mediafire.com/?ty1l2q4vk7t5ber
use Total7zip 0.6.0.2
update it with the included here wcx file

diceman2037
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2010-07-17, 05:41 UTC

Post by *diceman2037 » 2010-12-28, 19:14 UTC

Also, your 7zG.exe is not large address aware so will fail when multithreaded packing a large file which exceeds the 2GB lower address limit.

User avatar
Total7zip
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-12-18, 07:54 UTC

Post by *Total7zip » 2010-12-28, 22:05 UTC

diceman2037 wrote:your 7zG.exe is not large address aware so will fail when multithreaded packing a large file which exceeds the 2GB lower address limit.
This plugin uses original 7zG.exe from 7-zip 9.20 package released by www.7-zip.org. Can you, please, explain what's wrong with it?
What does it mean "large address aware"? Can you suggest better 7zG?
:shock:

diceman2037
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2010-07-17, 05:41 UTC

Post by *diceman2037 » 2010-12-29, 19:07 UTC

32bit applications lacking the large address aware flag are only able to use the 2GB's of user address space, regardless of whether they are used on an x64 os or not.

compressing a 50MB file with a 273 dictionary size and 8 threads for instance requires 4.4GB's of compression memory, which will fail with an out of memory or similar message.

enabling large address aware on the 7zG.exe (there are tools available for this) allows the application to use up to 4GB's of user address space under x64, and up to 3GB on x32 os's configured to enable 3GB user address space.

the 7zip plugin also had this issue until i set large address aware on the total commander executable.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8327
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2010-12-29, 19:30 UTC

Why not just to use 64-bit version?

Post Reply