Converting plugins to 64-bit - reward

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Post by *Sir_SiLvA » 2012-03-10, 09:54 UTC

speller2 wrote:Do you mean event xx.wlx specified in the wincmd.ini TC64 will try to load xx.wlx64?
Ofc....
Event xxx.wlx = 32Bit-Dll, TC64Bit CANT USE 32Bit dlls....
So if u depend on event.wlx stick to TC32Bit...

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3168
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2012-03-10, 10:05 UTC

speller2 wrote:Do you mean event xx.wlx specified in the wincmd.ini TC64 will try to load xx.wlx64?
Yes.

BTW, that's why you can use the same wincmd.ini for both 32- and 64-bit versions of TC: the section contain WLX plugin name, so the 32-bit loads it, and the 64-bit loads wlx64 (if it is present, of course).
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21a / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

speller2
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 2009-01-26, 13:49 UTC
Location: Russia

Post by *speller2 » 2012-03-10, 10:36 UTC

Ok, thank you for explanations :)

speller2
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 2009-01-26, 13:49 UTC
Location: Russia

Post by *speller2 » 2012-03-10, 10:59 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
Ok, my 64 bit plugin is now appeared on totalcmd.net: http://www.totalcmd.net/plugring/peviewer.html . How can I privately clarify reward details with you?

J.Bl
Member
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: 2005-01-23, 16:29 UTC

Post by *J.Bl » 2012-03-10, 14:20 UTC

speller2 wrote:How can I privately clarify reward details
Simply write an email with all informations (plugin, konto, questions) to the standard email address of the Tc (and of ghisler(author)), which is given here: http://ghisler.ch/board/impressum.htm

HTH

J.Bl

speller2
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 2009-01-26, 13:49 UTC
Location: Russia

Post by *speller2 » 2012-03-10, 23:18 UTC

2J.Bl
Thank you :) I will follow your advise )

xbrook
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-04-08, 14:06 UTC

VisualDirSize 32 to 64bit request

Post by *xbrook » 2012-04-08, 14:13 UTC

Hi gentlemen

I would like to request about convert of great plugin named "VisualDirSize" from 32bit to 64bit version.

I know you cannot passed all request, but this plugin is thing which i am missing in 64bit version of this great file commander.

Thanks

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2063
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 » 2012-04-08, 14:33 UTC

2xbrook

Post your request at the plugin page, http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=8222

rilley
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2008-08-24, 16:42 UTC

Post by *rilley » 2012-05-12, 07:20 UTC

One question

Why not make an 32 plugin that will load 32 plugins in total commander 64 bit version?

User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Post by *Sir_SiLvA » 2012-05-12, 09:58 UTC

Because a 64Bit Application CANT use 32Bit-Plugins...

umbra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 784
Joined: 2012-01-14, 20:41 UTC

Post by *umbra » 2012-05-12, 10:08 UTC

2Sir_SiLvA
Not exactly true. See http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=32909. It would require some work though.
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64

User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Post by *Sir_SiLvA » 2012-05-12, 18:16 UTC

umbra wrote:2Sir_SiLvA
Not exactly true. See http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=32909. It would require some work though.
Oh really you can make a 32Bit dll that is run by a 64 Program without a wrapper? No, and the threads proves my point.

Ofc you can build a wrapper but as Chris pointed out in that thread brings bugs, slowing the thing down - wich is kinda joke if you go for 64Bit for speed and then slow it all down by using a wrapper...

umbra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 784
Joined: 2012-01-14, 20:41 UTC

Post by *umbra » 2012-05-12, 18:35 UTC

2Sir_SiLvA
rilley was suggesting to create such wrapper ...
And I don't think TCx64 is any faster than TCx32. The only reason I want to use it is a better integration with my OS (context menu, folder redirections, better UI, ...).
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37495
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-05-14, 13:50 UTC

I think that it's better to use TC 32-bit if you need to use some unported plugins than to use 32-bit plugins through a wrapper. Such a wrapper would cause a big slowdown because of the constant switching between the 64-bit and 32-bit process.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37495
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-05-30, 13:25 UTC

Now that TC8 final is available, I'm offering the reward for porting to 64-bit also to third party authors. The conditions are:
1. The plugin should support at least the main feature of the 32-bit only plugin.
2. The author needs to put it on Totalcmd.net, give it a similar name as the old unsupported plugin, and send me the link
3. If there is more than one alternative plugin, those coming later will get the reward only if they do significantly more than the first replacement. For example, if the first replacement packer plugin only does unpacking, and the second then also supports packing, or additional formats. We alone decide whether there will be a reward or not. The decision is final.
4. The reward is $100 for plugins where the source is available - then it's often just a question of recompiling with a few minor tweaks. I'm willing to negotiate a higher reward for plugins where no source is available, but please contact me before starting to write the plugin. No higher reward will be available if it isn't negotiated in advance.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply