Registry plugin: Bugs

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1885
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Post by *Peter » 2012-07-14, 21:13 UTC

karapuz79 wrote:You can either post it here or to the email from Options window....
Fine. Will do it next Monday.
karapuz79 wrote:...New version should be ready soon (hopefully)....
Fine. Are there new strings? Will you post them here or send them to translators before you release it?

Peter
TC 9.22a / #266191
Win 7 x64 / Win 10 x64

karapuz79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2012-01-07, 17:57 UTC

Post by *karapuz79 » 2012-07-15, 15:04 UTC

Peter wrote:Fine. Are there new strings? Will you post them here or send them to translators before you release it?
There are no new strings atm.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8423
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2012-07-15, 15:50 UTC

2karapuz79

Apparently my latest Danish translation hasn't made it into the current version 4.9 installer at totalcmd.net - please dowload it from here: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/registry_wfx_490_danish.zip
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b5 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

karapuz79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2012-01-07, 17:57 UTC

Post by *karapuz79 » 2012-07-15, 18:51 UTC

2petermad
Thanks, updated.

Binaries are ready, waiting for translations.

Here is the list of changes:
- Fixed: Search window does not disappear right after opening (x64 only)
- Fixed: Recompiled in VS2008 for compatibility with Windows 2000 (also fixed search)
- Fixed: Better work in some x64 systems - no more duplicate Wow6432Node keys in WinXP x64, no crash during search
- Fixed: Crash when accessing remote registry (TC 8.01)
- Fixed: Main icon was not displayed in some systems
- Changed: Show found key path as if inside HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT only when searching in HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT, otherwise keep original HKLM path
TC 8.01RC4 x64, Win7 x64 SP1

karapuz79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2012-01-07, 17:57 UTC

Post by *karapuz79 » 2012-07-16, 19:53 UTC

2Peter
Thanks for the translation.

Uploaded v5.0!

Thank you everyone for bug reports, waiting for new ones :)
TC 8.01RC4 x64, Win7 x64 SP1

User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath » 2012-07-16, 20:07 UTC

on windows 7 it says that the plugin is usign a missing dll and anyway it won't run.
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8423
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2012-07-16, 20:22 UTC

2karapuz79

I realized that I hadn't put the Danish translation in Registry.lng

Please download:
http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/registry_wfx_500_danish.zip

NOTE: I had to change the "date" key to "writedate" in order to make the custom columns translation work.

on windows 7 it says that the plugin is usign a missing dll and anyway it won't run.
Starts fine here in TC 8.01rc4 both 32bit and 64bit under Windows 7 x64
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b5 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6627
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2012-07-16, 22:56 UTC

karapuz79 wrote:- Fixed: Recompiled in VS2008 for compatibility with Windows 2000 (also fixed search)
I can confirm the fix. Version 5.0 is working on Win2k again (including the search).
- Fixed: Better work in some x64 systems - no more duplicate Wow6432Node keys in WinXP x64, no crash during search
I can NOT confirm this! See this screenshot. On Win7 it is working fine (as it did in Version 4.9) but not on XP x64 using TC 8.0 32 bit. The plugin's 64-bit version is working fine though.
Nigurrath wrote:on windows 7 it says that the plugin is usign a missing dll and anyway it won't run.
NOT confirmed. The plugin loads as expected on Win7 (as on the other Windows versions since Win2k) on TC 8.0 32 and 64 bit.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath » 2012-07-17, 07:27 UTC

don't really know what to say. I inspected the the wfx import table and all seems to be ok, but even during the installation TC says that there are some missing dlls and even after the installation there's no way to make it running.

Indeed it is a problem that even the version before had.

NTRegistry on the other hand works flawlessly.

In the past this problem I see has been mentioned by someone else for older versions.. ??
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b

karapuz79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2012-01-07, 17:57 UTC

Post by *karapuz79 » 2012-07-17, 09:05 UTC

2Nigurrath
Please ensure that you have English.lng in the plugin folder - though theoretically it should show a message box about the missing language file: "Cannot find the default language file 'English.lng', please re-install the plugin!"
And sorry about that, it is a long shot, but - are you sure you are using 32-bit plugin version with 32-bit TC? If you try to use 64-bit version (.wfx64) from 32-bit TC then indeed you get "The plugin probably needs some DLLs missing on your system". Same about 64-bit TC and 32-bit plugin (.wfx).

2Dalai
I do not see an issue on the screenshot - if you run 32-bit version and ask it to access 64-bit registry then it is exactly what it does on the picture. In my system for example there really is second Wow6432Node inside of the first one, but its content is different and regedit shows the same.
TC 8.01RC4 x64, Win7 x64 SP1

User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath » 2012-07-17, 09:25 UTC

yes of course am using the 32b version and as well the lng file is present. I tried all these "simple" combinations indeed..I have tc 32b on a win32 bit and not a single *64 plugin installed..

this is what happens: I let plugin to autoinstall, just after the "file system plugins" dialogbox (the one with all the installed file system plugins) I get this error dialog appearing: "the plugin probably needs some dlls missing from your system". It's clearly a wrong message, but it's a signal of an error during the loaddll process. Something is therefore missing from my system which prevents loading..dunno what.

The plugin anyway is able to create the registry_vk.ini file before stopping with that error.
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b

karapuz79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2012-01-07, 17:57 UTC

Post by *karapuz79 » 2012-07-17, 09:33 UTC

2Nigurrath
Thanks, I will take a look what is going on after ini file generation. Since TC managed to call the Init method it means that DLLs are loaded ok, but something fails in the method itself...
TC 8.01RC4 x64, Win7 x64 SP1

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6627
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2012-07-17, 15:16 UTC

karapuz79 wrote:2Dalai
I do not see an issue on the screenshot - if you run 32-bit version and ask it to access 64-bit registry then it is exactly what it does on the picture.
I see a problem there. Wow6432Node shouldn't show up a second time in the first place. The plugin doesn't do it on Win7 x64 as you can see in this picture.
In my system for example there really is second Wow6432Node inside of the first one, but its content is different and regedit shows the same.
But there shouldn't be a second one! I made another screenshot on XP x64 that shows regedit as well. There is still an infinite loop with Wow6432Node and it always shows the same contents. So there's clearly a problem.

2Nigurrath: Did you try to install the plugin while TC was started as Administrator?

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

karapuz79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2012-01-07, 17:57 UTC

Post by *karapuz79 » 2012-07-18, 00:20 UTC

Dalai wrote:There is still an infinite loop with Wow6432Node and it always shows the same contents. So there's clearly a problem.
Thanks, confirmed in XP x64 TC Win32. More or less fixed now, but needs a bit more testing (export, etc).


2Nigurrath
Nothing too suspicious in the code, I will prepare a version with logging soon. Meanwhile - where is you TC installed, Program Files?
TC 8.01RC4 x64, Win7 x64 SP1

User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath » 2012-07-18, 14:33 UTC

hi men,
TC runs as administrator's group account and it's installed into another folder d:\wincmd.

A logging version should help to rectify the situation
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b

Post Reply