New: Windows Media Audio v2 (MTP, PlaysForSure) plugin

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-05-12, 09:58 UTC

Not confirmed. What device?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

OrdosDeviator
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2014-06-07, 18:47 UTC

Post by *OrdosDeviator » 2014-06-07, 19:20 UTC

Win 7 SP1 x64
TC 8.51a
Windows Media Audio 2 plugin v1.2 x64 plugin version installed
Phone: galaxy note 3 android 4.4.2

I deleted 1 file in root folder, TC froze after the file have been deleted.
After I restarted TC, I couldnt reach root folder - TC crashed

After I restarted PC, I reached root folder, anothe file was deleted OK,
but TC froze after I tried to rename file :(


Couple monthes ago I tried to use this plugin, but it froze also.
I'm interested this plugin to work perfect, so I can simulate all situations you need and I am ready to provide all information you need to fix this plugin crashes and freezes.

O, god, I tried to add 4 pictures, but it's impossible for newcomers :/

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11354
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2014-06-08, 23:12 UTC

OrdosDeviator,
OrdosDeviator
Oh, I like this one. :D
/Offtopic

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-06-09, 08:52 UTC

There is no need to use the Windows Media Audio 2 plugin with Android devices. Just open the drive "+" via Alt+F1 or Alt+F2, then you should see your device.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

OrdosDeviator
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2014-06-07, 18:47 UTC

Post by *OrdosDeviator » 2014-06-09, 09:36 UTC

There is no need to use the Windows Media Audio 2 plugin with Android devices. Just open the drive "+" via Alt+F1 or Alt+F2, then you should see your device.
Thank you! It works!

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8811
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2014-06-09, 10:32 UTC

There is no need to use the Windows Media Audio 2 plugin with Android devices. Just open the drive "+" via Alt+F1 or Alt+F2, then you should see your device
But not everything works then. For instance you cannot view files with F3 when accessing via the drive list (it seems like the wrong path is passed), whereas that works when you use the plugin to access the android device.

Testet with TC 8.51a on Windows XP and Windows 8.1 to HTC One (M8) phone using Android Kitkat 4.4.2.

It looks like TC is passing the current directory as the root e.g:

\\DCIM\picture.jpg in stead of \\HTC One_M8\Internt lager\DCIM\picture.jpg

Using MediaAudio2 this path is passed: \\MediaAudio2\HTC One_M8\Internt lager\DCIM\picture.jpg
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-06-12, 11:47 UTC

F3 isn't possible because it's a virtual folder - TC tries to get a local folder for F3, but this only works with local virtual folders like the Desktop. With plugins, TC actually downloads the file to TEMP before sending it to the viewer.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Devi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014-06-19, 12:30 UTC
Contact:

Post by *Devi » 2014-06-19, 12:40 UTC

Awesome, thanks for the information guys!

Stockel1949
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2005-04-29, 10:41 UTC

Post by *Stockel1949 » 2014-06-30, 10:39 UTC

petermad wrote:
The camera can also be seen in Explorer, and in TC using cm_OpenDrives (that applies to both my Win XP and my Win 7 x64 computer).
Thank you for this "command" information. I was looking how to see my old Creative Zen player with TC with my new PC (Win8.1) when I found this (maybe well knowed) command they resolved my problem.

Thanks again.
Daniel (Bruxelles)

glorifyday
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014-09-17, 14:15 UTC

Post by *glorifyday » 2014-09-17, 14:22 UTC

As I am new here, I would like to say hello to everybody! :)

This plugin works great, although I found out that when you want to synchronise directories and compare files by content, the identical files are falsely recognised as different (the connected device is an Android Kitkat phone in MTP mode).

Has anybody noticed this? Is it possible to fix?

User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Post by *wanderer » 2015-07-18, 13:19 UTC

glorifyday wrote:This plugin works great, although I found out that when you want to synchronise directories and compare files by content, the identical files are falsely recognised as different (the connected device is an Android Kitkat phone in MTP mode).
Hi. A few months later ( :) ) but i've just noticed the same thing. it seems than when copying files, the plugin does something wrong with the time of the file. Sometimes the file on the device differs by a few minutes from the file in the PC, some other times it differs by some hours(!)
glorifyday wrote:Has anybody noticed this? Is it possible to fix?
Let's hope Christian can take a look at this and fix it, 'cause it's convenient.
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Latest TC / x32: WinXPx32 SP3 / x64: Clients/Servers from Win7SP1 through Win19Server

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2015-07-20, 08:18 UTC

The plugin does set the DATE_MODIFIED property of the file when uploading, so the date should be copied. Unfortunately not all devices seem to support this property. On these devices, the uploaded files will get the current date/time of the DEVICE. So if the time is off, check the internal clock of your device.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Lesmo16
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 380
Joined: 2005-02-07, 07:18 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Lesmo16 » 2016-04-21, 19:13 UTC

Just discovered this very useful plugin.
Thank you very much Christian! :)
Everyone believing in telekinesis, raise my hand!

al000032
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-12-01, 19:12 UTC

Post by *al000032 » 2017-12-01, 19:22 UTC

Hello, just noticed MediaAudio2 doesn't work on the last TC 9.12 32-bit under windows 10 64, windows 7 32.
If return to TC 9.0a - MediaAudio2 works again.
Please check and correct plugin.
Best Regards...

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8811
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-12-01, 20:03 UTC

2al000032
Hmm, It works fine here on Windows 10 x64 (1709) with TC 9.12 32bit, MediaAudio2 v.1.2 and my HTC One M8 Android 6.0 phone.

Also works on Windows 7 and Windows 8.1

The difference is how the phone is represented:
In 32bit TC is is shown as Usb1 or Usb2 (depending on other Usb drives loaded).
In 64bit TC it is shown as HTC One_M8
In Windows Explorer it is always shown as HTC One_M8 as it is in TC's dropdown drive combobox.

The old MediaAudio 32bit plugin from 2009 shows my phone as HTC One_M8 as well.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply