New: Windows Media Audio v2 (MTP, PlaysForSure) plugin

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-12-20, 13:57 UTC

I will consider it, or make it configurable, or both.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

zonkius
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: 2003-02-24, 22:08 UTC

Post by *zonkius » 2012-12-27, 18:57 UTC

Hi, I've the same problem like thousand other with android galaxy s3 and the missing usb mass storage. I found the MediaAudio2 plugin and it seems this is the solution for missing UMS.
But I have some irritations:

on phone card there is this file:

Code: Select all

\\\MediaAudio2\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\02.jpg


a) Shift-F6 (rename) works fine:
Log:

Code: Select all

GET DIR \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\02.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\02b.jpg
GET DIR \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1

b) but Shift-F5 (copy) doesn't:

Code: Select all

GET DIR \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\
COPY \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\02b.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\02bcopy.jpg
GET DIR \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1
After this 02b.jpg was deleted, it seems, the copy works like the move!


c) 'entf' (delete) doesn't work:
If I delete the file 02bcopy, or any other, TC blocked (Keine Rückmeldung) until I switch on the phone from MTP to PTP mode. In Logfile I can't find anything about 'delete...'. But after reconnect the file was deleted.
In Explorer, deleting files works fine.

d) MultirenameTool
It doesn't rename the Files if there are a lot of files (in 'camera' folder I have about 400 files). If there are only a few files, MultirenameTool runs well.
I find all the 'move' in log, but in real, there wasn't renamed any file!

Code: Select all

GET DIR \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG00.28.53_01-05-2012 - Kopiert.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\20120501_002853_IMG00.28.53_01-05-2012 - Kopiert.jpg
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG00.28.53_01-05-2012 - Kopiert2.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\20120501_002853_IMG00.28.53_01-05-2012 - Kopiert2.jpg
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG00.28.53_xasdfasdfadf_01-05-2012.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\sdfadfxa_002853_IMG00.28.53_xasdfasdfadf_01-05-2012.jpg
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG05.45.28_11-06-2012.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\20120611_054528_IMG05.45.28_11-06-2012.jpg
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG05.45.54_08-03-2012.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\20120308_054554_IMG05.45.54_08-03-2012.jpg
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG05.46.09_11-06-2012.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\20120611_054609_IMG05.46.09_11-06-2012.jpg
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG05.46.12_29-02-2012.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\20120229_054612_IMG05.46.12_29-02-2012.jpg
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG05.46.21_11-06-2012.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\20120611_054621_IMG05.46.21_11-06-2012.jpg
MOVE \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\IMG06.04.38_19-03-2012.jpg->\GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1\20120319_060438_IMG06.04.38_19-03-2012.jpg
GET DIR \GT-I9300\Card\DCIM\test1

Is this all about the beta state of the plugin, or is this because of the android 4.1.1 Version?

Runing this:

Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3, GT-I9300, rooted, Android Version 4.1.1, Kernel Version 3.0.31-256827
PC: Win 7, Service Pack 1, 64 bit,
TC: 8.01, 32Bit, Plugin MediaAudio2 V0.7beta

Regards Klaus

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-12-30, 14:06 UTC

Mediaaudio2 was created for media players. It can only see files which are present in the media database of your phone. Try to use the virtual folder instead:
1. Click on the little triangle (upside down) to the left of the current path
2. Click on "Computer" - there the device should appear

Unfortunately no time stamps are shown, but copying files should still preserve them.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Directories displayed as files

Post by *jakubklos » 2013-01-14, 08:26 UTC

Hi Christian,
since MTP becomes literally the only way to access new devices I think we should work on its perfection. It works nice on my S3 and Nexus10. However on my Transformer Prime it displays some directories as files. Can we work on fixing this issue, please? Windows Explorer displays the folders properly of course.
Thank you,
Jakub

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2013-01-14, 14:18 UTC

TC is just showing what the system reports. Maybe these directories are actually links on the device like the /sdcard "folder".
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos » 2013-01-14, 14:22 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:TC is just showing what the system reports. Maybe these directories are actually links on the device like the /sdcard "folder".
Hmm.. but the windows explorer displays them properly as folders. Also I believe they change. So if I connect / disconnect and connect again different folders are reported as files than before. I really think you should look into that.

How can I help? Do you have more than the TC logs? Like some debug logs?
Thank you

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2013-01-14, 14:37 UTC

If you use the virtual folder used by the Explorer also in TC, they will surely show up as folders too.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos » 2013-01-14, 15:14 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:If you use the virtual folder used by the Explorer also in TC, they will surely show up as folders too.
Yes, that works fine. I had no idea such functionality was supported. The size and date is not displayed though. Also new directory cannot be created with TC although when you copy directories from other drive it works fine. Could that be fixed?

So what should be used preferrably? The plugin or the virtual folder?
Thank you again. I will not bug you anymore
Last edited by jakubklos on 2013-01-16, 16:05 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

MossMan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2007-03-08, 10:00 UTC

Post by *MossMan » 2013-01-16, 14:22 UTC

Seriously, who the hell thinks that adding all these extra protocols, which obscure the file data, is in ANY WAY better than just behaving like an external drive?!?

First my old Fuji camera worked perfectly well as a USB drive, but then I got a newer Fuji with PTP which caused all sorts of problems (Windows' stupid scanner app starting up every time I plug it in, file date and time not copying across, file deletion and re-naming not happening, reported directory listings not updating after changing things...)

Now my old Android phone worked perfectly well as a USB drive, but I just got an Android tablet with MTP which is causing all sorts of problems (Windows' stupid media app starting up every time I plug it in, etc.). I only got it yesterday, but since it immediately proved difficult to do any normal file transfer (just like the PTP camera) I simply installed ES Explorer(*) and was instantly sending files between the tablet and PC over WiFi instead.

(*) sorry Christian, I love TC on Windows but I find ES much easier in Android.

PTP and MTP are real pains in the backsides and huge steps backwards in usability! What on Earth is the point of them?! Incidently, the old "wiacom" plugin I used to use for the camera doesn't work in Win7 - but I still can't bear to use PTP... so I just whip out the card and stick it in the PC's reader instead.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2013-01-17, 13:56 UTC

2jakubklos
It really depends on the device: If the MTP or ADB plugins works with your device, then use one of these. They support advanced functions like synchronizing, and show all file details. If they don't, use the virtual folder.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

HAL 9000
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:05 UTC

Post by *HAL 9000 » 2013-05-18, 15:18 UTC

Hmm, people make a good point that Windows Explorer uses MTP protocol too, but has no problems seeing links as files - so it should be possible to fix.

I've noticed that if using this plugin you just copy the files with subdirectories, they are correctly appear on device in respective subfolders - even when after you see dir listing, they look as files.

So, say there is something that plugin sees like file named "Folder"
But if you execute command GET DIR \\Folder, it will be successful.

Maybe there is some extra attribute bit for links, or just possible to actually try execute list command to see if "file" is actually a link to a folder?

It would be great if this could be fixed somehow. I know virtual folder works kind of, but I really miss ability to sync via MTP - there is almost no apps exist that actually support "pure" file sync via MTP (only one I found is PureSync and its not without share of issues).

t_arn
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: 2006-12-28, 07:52 UTC

Times off by 2 hours

Post by *t_arn » 2013-05-21, 11:33 UTC

I have a Samsung Galaxy S4 and tried to access it Windows Media Audio 2 PlugIn which also works pretty good.

But all times are 2 hours ahead on my S4 (I'm on UTC+1+DST = UTC+2) which makes it impossible to use the synchronize directory feature.

In the Windows Explorer, the date/time is shown correctly.

It would be great if this problem could be fixed because as for now there is no good sync tool for MTP. PureSync does not work for me (sizes are shown as 0 - this works OK with TC).

Tom

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2013-05-23, 12:48 UTC

As I have described in a previous message, the API doesn't describe whether the returned time is in UTC or local time. Some devices seem to return UTC and some local time.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

CITYGUY
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: 2012-09-07, 11:00 UTC

sync

Post by *CITYGUY » 2013-06-29, 23:41 UTC

I really want to use this to sync between the sd card on my Jelly Bean Android phone (HTC One) and my PC!!!

My phone can only be seed on my windows 7 PC as an MTP device...

seems like it is almost there but some of the folders are shown as files.

Please, can you make it better. This is the only chance I have.

seems like all the rest is working:
quick to connect, copy and other file operations are working.

This could be irreplaceable as many like me are looking to replace the way we could operate hen we had UMS!

Please, help!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38451
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2013-07-01, 08:36 UTC

seems like it is almost there but some of the folders are shown as files.
Which folders, can you give an example? I guess that they are symbolic links to folders, not real folders, e.g. /sdcard pointing to something like /mnt/sdcard
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply